ROCK NEWS - Archive 2005

AFI have been holed up in a Los Angeles studio in recent weeks, putting the finishing touches on their forthcoming, still-untitled album, which should surface sometime in early 2006. The band has posted on their myspace page an outtake from the "Sing The Sorrow" sessions called "Rabbits Are Roadkill On Route 37".

Tom DeLonge has revealed that he has a new project called Angels And Airwaves. Following the demise of Blink-182 in February 2005, DeLonge has been in the studio with his new band recording their as yet untitled debut album for Geffen.

After a four year hiatus, Louise Post has reunited Veruca Salt for a fall tour and new recordings. An EP is slated for release by year's end, with a new studio album scheduled for next summer, entitled "Lords Of Sounds And Lesser Things".

Yellowcard has announced details on the band's follow-up to their hit 2003 album "Ocean Avenue". "Lights And Sounds" will not be released until January 24, 2006, but the lead single and title track will be sold as a digital download single on October 24. The song goes for radio adds on November 15.

The Darkness will return this fall. The lead single from their sophomore album is titled "One Way Ticket" and will be released this November. The still-untitled second album will be released in the U.K. on November 28.

Pete Townshend has explained the delay of making a new Who album. Townshend writes on his Web site that he demos more than fifty tracks just to get one finished Who song and each demo costs at least $900. Townshend told Rolling Stone that he "doesn't say there will never be any new Who songs at all. It says I've been writing for ten years, and it may take fifteen." The new album is tentatively called Who2 and Townshend and Roger Daltrey had hoped to start recording in 2006.

Gavin Rossdale, lead singer of Bush, is readying the release of his first musical project since 2001's "Golden State". The first album from his new band, Institute, is tentatively set to hit stores this fall, the first single, "Bulletproof Skin", will impact radio at the end of the summer.

Depeche Mode is currently in the studio in Santa Barbara, California, working on the follow-up to 2001's "Exciter"; the as-yet-untitled set is due in the fall via Mute internationally and by Reprise in North America.

Pearl Jam's drummer Matt Cameron have recently told Rolling Stone that the band's new record is close to completion; Cameron, Vedder and company hopes to tour behind the still-untitled album this summer.

Danny Joe Brown, the lead singer and founding member of Molly Hatchet, dies on March 14, 2005 of complications from diabetes, he was 53; Brown fronted the Southern-Rock band on its first two albums, which sold more than three million copies.

Coldplay's long-awaited third studio album, "X&Y" will be issued June 6; the first single, "Speed Of Sound" will be serviced to radio in April and arrive May 23 at retail. "X&Y" will be supported by the band's largest world tour, starting June 15 at Volks Park in Hamburg, Germany.

Sevendust members have posted on the band's Web site a number of developments; amidst working on the follow-up to 2003's "Seasons", the group has added Snot guitarist Sonny Mayo to the fold after Clint Lowery abruptly left in mid-December and plans to debut the new line-up via a series of April tour dates.

Dandy Warhols has dubbed its new album "Odditorium Or Warlords Of Mars" according to the alt-Rock band's official web site; the set isn't expected until late summer and will include the first single "Smoke It".

Jim Capaldi, died on January 28, after a brief fight with stomach cancer; the 60-year-old legendary drummer of the '70s supergroup Traffic born in England of Italian immigrant parents, when the band broke up in 1974 after releasing 11 albums, Capaldi started his solo career; he, Steve Winwood and Dave Mason eventually reformed Traffic to tour in 1993-94 and Capaldi toured in 1998 with fellow band founder Mason. Jim Capaldi died in his sleep at the London Clinic in the early hours with his wife and family at his bedside.

Chris and Rich Robinson are reforming The Black Crowes for a five-night stand at New York's Hammerstein Ballroom; since the band went on hiatus in early 2002, Chris has released two solo albums, while Rich issued his first last fall; the shows are scheduled for March 22-23, 25-27.

New Order will return this spring with a new album, "Waiting For The Sirens Call" according to its official Web site. The set is due March 28 in the U.K. via Warner Music, with the single "Krafty" arriving two weeks earlier.

System Of A Down is working towards the spring release of the first of their two-disc album set; the band will release two CDs of new music in 2005, Mesmerize will arrive in the spring, with Hypnotize coming roughly six months later.

On February 23, 2005, Disturbed will be putting on a benefit concert for the Dimebag Darrell Memorial Fund, the venue of choice is the Aragon Ballroom in Chicago; the concert line-up has been expanded to include Anthrax, Drowning Pool and Soil.

Rob Thomas, who has recently taken a break from his role as lead singer of Matchbox 20, will release his solo debut in May. The still-untitled album will feature a guest spot by John Mayer playing guitar on a track.

Disturbed are continuing to write material for their third album, the upcoming CD will mark the group's first release with new bassist, ex-Union Underground John Moyer, who joined the band in April following the band's split with Steve 'Fuzz' Kmak.

Goldfinger after a decade of service to the pop punk community will release its first album for Maverick; the group's fifth studio set "Disconnection Notice" will hit stores on February 15.

Beck's new album has been pushed back once again, to a late March release. The first single, "e-pro" is expected to arrive at radio at the end of January.

Garbage have confirmed they will be releasing their fourth album; report: "Bleed Like Me" will be released outside of North American on April 11th via Warner Brothers Records and in North America on April 12th via Geffen Records; the band confirm that the album will have 11 songs.



ROCK NEWS - Archive 2004 » » »