100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

12 Stones

12 Stones bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

12 Stones

12 Stones photo 2007

12 Stones Biography

Hailing from the rural town of Mandeville, a small suburb just north of New Orleans, Louisiana USA, this Alternative-Rock outfit was formed in 2000 by vocalist Paul McCoy, guitarist Eric Weaver, bassist Kevin Dorr and drummer Aaron Gainer.

Though comprised of four guys all under the age of twenty, 12 Stones recorded a demo which began to circulate quickly among fans and major record labels, thus resulting in a record deal with Wind-up Records who released their eponymous debut full-length disc in April 2002. The record became a top 10 hit on the U.S. Billboard's Christian Albums chart and crept into the Billboard 200. The first single "Broken" displayed the energy of this young guys receiving significant airplay on alt-Rock radio; it was followed by two further excellent singles: "The Way I Feel" and "Crash". Over the next two years the group sold over 300,000 copies of their first album, largely through touring with the likes of Creed and 3 Doors Down and word-of-mouth.

Paul McCoy had a guest appearance on Evanescence's transatlantic hit single "Bring Me To Life", duetting with Amy Lee.

In early 2004, Dorr left the band and guitar player Greg Trammell joined in time for the recording of the group's second effort, "Potter's Field", which was released in August the same year. It peaked at #29 on The Billboard Top 200 chart and included the singles "Photograph" and "Far Away", the latter of which hit the top 40 of The Mainstream Rock Tracks.

Operating as a five-piece unit with the addition of rhythm guitarist Justin Rimer, 12 Stones issued its third studio record, "Anthem For The Underdog", in August 2007; the CD debuted at #53 on The Billboard 200 spawning three Hot Mainstream Rock top 30 hits "Lie To Me", the title-track and "Adrenaline".

Three years later the band put out a stop gap release called "The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday", a 5-song EP which featured the Active Rock top 30 hit "We Are One", a fist-pumping ode to the men and women of America's military. This was the final release for Wind-up Records.

In early 2011, 12 Stones signed a new record deal with Executive Music Group. In June of that same year, the group, now comprised of McCoy, Weaver, Rimer and two newcomers, Brad Reynolds on bass and Michael McManus on drums released a single called "Bulletproof" which was expected to feature on their fourth full album. The disc, initially titled "Only Human", saw the light of day in May 2012 ultimately retitled "Beneath The Scars", it just squeaked into the The Billboard 200 but hit #6 on The Top Christian Albums chart producing two Active Rock top 40 hits in "Psycho" and "Infected" as well as a Christian Rock #1 smash with "Worlds Collide". In the meantime rhythm guitarist Justin Rimer left the band, drummer Aaron Gainer returned to the fold and bass player Will Reed replaced Reynolds.


12 Stones biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

12 Stones pictures:

  • 12 Stones band lineup 2002 12 Stones band lineup 2002
    The band line-up 2002
  • 12 Stones band 2005 12 Stones band 2005
    12 Stones 2005