100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


3 bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

3 band

3 photo 2007

3 Biography

Hailing from Woodstock, New York USA, the Alternative-Metal band 3 began as a three-piece group in the mid-'90s with Joey Eppard on vocals + guitar, Chris Bittner on bass and Josh Eppard on drums.

After their appearance at the Woodstock festival in 1994, 3 came to the attention of Universal Records but that relationship ended just before an album was released.
The band's debut album, "Paint By Number", was eventually issued by Planet Noise Records in 1998.

Following the departure of Josh Eppard, who left the group to join Coheed And Cambria and former bassist Chris Bittner, respectively replaced by drummer Chris Gartmann and Joe Cuchelo, 3 added a new guitarist, Billy Riker and in 2001 released its sophomore effort, "Half Life", a powerful record of live performances.

The Woodstock-based group began touring nationally in 2003 when they hit the road with Coheed And Cambria and in October of the same year 3 unleashed their third album, " Summercamp Nightmare", their first with keyboardist + percussionist Joe Stote.

The follow-up album, "Wake Pig", arrived in October 2004, this was the last album to feature Cuchelo on bass who was replaced by Daniel Grimsland in the middle of the sessions.

Enter 2006, after the successful re-release of "Wake Pig" on Metal Blade Records and the completion of their first world tour alongside the likes of Porcupine Tree, Atreyu, Underoath, Straylight Run, Vendetta Red and many more, 3 returned home to begin work on a new record.
The band's fifth album, "The End Is Begun", was finally issued in July 2007 on Metal Blade. The disc included the Active Radio minor hit "All That Remains".
In 2008 the group toured with Chevelle, performed on the inaugural Progressive Nation tour, along with Dream Theater and Opeth and embarked on their first headlining tour of North America.

Not long after Joe Stote exited the band and 3 continued on as a quartet. In October 2009 was released "Revisions", a collection that tapped the rich history of the group by re-examining some of the earlier songs. Some of them are known from early live bootlegs, others existed only on cassette.

3's next studio album, "The Ghost You Gave To Me", arrived in October 2011, it contained another Rock radio minor hit single: "Numbers".


3 biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

3 band pictures:

  • 3 band lineup 2003 3 band lineup 2003
    The band line-up 2003