100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

36 Crazyfists

36 Crazyfists bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

36 Crazyfists

36 Crazyfists photo 2007

36 Crazyfists Biography

Formed in Anchorage, Alaska USA, in 1994, the Hardcore Metal quartet 36 Crazyfists named themselves after a Jackie Chan film and immediately created a buzz coming out of the frigid scene. The initial line-up included vocalist Brock Lindow, guitarist Ryan Brownell, bassist JD Stuart and drummer Thomas Noonan.

Their first release was the 5-track "Boss Buckle", released in 1995.
When their original bassist died in a car accident in 1996, they moved to Portland and persevered while Mick Whitney filled the vacant bass position; the same year, Brownell left and was replaced by Steve Holt.
Their next EP "Suffer Tree" was released in 1997 and was followed by their indie album "In The Skin", also released in 1997.

36 Crazyfists were signed to Roadrunner Records in 2000 and immediately entered the studio to work on their debut album "Bitterness The Star", which came out in April 2002.

Exactly two years later the now-Oregon-based quartet released their second Roadrunner album, called "A Snow Capped Romance" which showcased positive lyrics with accompanying heartrending melodies. 36 Crazyfists supported the disc on tour with Killswitch Engage and remained on the road until December 2004.

A month later, the band started writing songs for "Rest Inside The Flames", their third major release; however it was their first for the North American label DRT Entertainment. The 11-song set, an energized batch of modern anthems built upon a pyre of swarming emotions, stomping, surging rhythms and vocals that seesaw between scathing rage and melodic regret, was released in the summer of 2006 in Europe and in U.S. in the late fall of the same year.

In 2008, an integral part of the ever-expanding Ferret Music family, 36 Crazyfists recorded "The Tide And Its Takers". The album, which contained the minor hit single "We Gave It Hell", peaked at #11 on the Top Independent chart and reached the #155 position on Billboard's Top 200 all-genre CD sales chart.

The Alaskan heavy-rockers next offering, "Collisions And Castaways", saw the band evolve into a three-piece unit following the 2008 departure of bassist Mick Whitney, who left the group to spend more time at home with his wife and children. The disc was relased in July 2010 along with the single "Reviver".


36 Crazyfists biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

36 Crazyfists pictures:

  • 36 Crazyfist band 2003 36 Crazyfist band 2003
    LtoR: Mick Whitney, Brock Lindow, Thomas Noonan & Steve Holt (2003)