100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

American Hi-Fi

American Hi-Fi bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

American Hi-Fi

American Hi-Fi photo 2010

American Hi-Fi Biography

Alternative-Rock band formed in Boston, Massachusetts USA, by lead singer + guitarist Stacy Jones, who after spending many years as a drummer with Veruca Salt and some other groups, decided to start a band of his own. During 2000 he recruited guitarist Jaime Arentzen, bassist Drew Parsons and drummer Brian Nolan to create the group.

That same year American Hi-Fi decamped to Hawaii where they recorded their self-titled debut album; released in February 2001 on Island Records, the disc hit #1 on Billboard's Top Heatseekers Albums chart and reached the #81 position on The Billboard 200 Sales list spawning the smash single "Flavor Of The Weak" which soared to #5 on The Modern Rock chart and fell just shy of reaching Top 40 status on the U.S. charts. The second single, "Another Perfect Day", also scaled The Modern Rock chart landing at #33.
The foursome supported the album on a world tour with various bands such as Eve 6, Our Lady Peace, Sum 41, Everclear and Phantom Planet.

The Boston-based outfit returned two years later with its second effort, "The Art Of Losing", achieving the same level of chart success as their eponymous debut CD, but only the title-track sneaked into the top 40 of The Modern Rock chart. The band then supported Matchbox Twenty touring throughout U.K. and Japan.

American Hi-Fi's third album, "Hearts On Parade" was released in Japan in the summer of 2004 led by the single "The Geeks Get The Girls"; shortly after the album's release, Jason Sutter joined the band replacing former drummer Brian Nolan. This album arrived on U.S. shelves in April 2005 peaking at a modest #129 on The Billboard 200.

In spring 2006 the band contributed the single "The Rescue" to the Rhino's Man of Steel celebration 14-tracks compilation titled "Sound Of Superman".

After a four year break American Hi-Fi resurfaced in 2010 with a new full-length, "Fight The Frequency"; the album, ready to drop August 17 through their own label Hi-Fi Killers, was recorded with the original line-up: Jones, Arentzen, Parsons and drummer Brian Nolan.


American Hi-Fi biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

American Hi-Fi pictures:

  • American Hi-Fi original lineup American Hi-Fi original lineup
    The original line-up
  • American Hi-Fi band 2005 American Hi-Fi band 2005
    American Hi-Fi 2005