100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Amy Winehouse

Amy Winehouse bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Amy Winehouse

Amy Winehouse photo 2006

Amy Winehouse Biography

Born on 14 September 1983 to East End Jewish parents, Amy Winehouse grew up in Southgate, north London ENGLAND. Winehouse dabbled with music journalism at the WENN, an independent news network headquartered in London, but found news reporting boring, preferring instead to write songs and sing with the National Youth Jazz Orchestra at weekends. When a friend in the music business, Nick Shymansky, heard her singing, he gave her studio time to record some demos and when she was just 17 she landed a contract with Island Records.

Amy Winehouse's debut album, "Frank", was released in October 2003 to widespread critical acclaim across Europe; the record climbed into the U.K. Top 20 and established Winehouse as one of the most exciting and challenging artists in Pop music.

It's been a fantastic few months for this Jazz-Soul singer+songwriter since the release, at the end of October 2006, of her anthemic single "Rehab". "Rehab" entered the British chart at #7 and managed to enter The Billboard Hot 100 at #84; it was followed by "Back To Black" which was released to universal acclaim and finished the year at #1 on the U.K. Albums chart. A second single, "You Know I'm No Good", was released in January and gave Winehouse her second big hit, the song reached #18 in U.K. while the album debuted at #7 on the American Billboard Top 200 chart.

Sadly, Amy Winehouse struggled substance and alcohol addiction for a large part of her music career. She died on July 23, 2011 at her London home from accidental alcohol poisoning at age 27.


Amy Winehouse biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Amy Winehouse pictures:

  • Amy Winehouse 2003 Amy Winehouse 2003
    Amy Winehouse in 2003

Frank (2003)

1. Stronger Than Me [Jazz intro]
2. You Send Me Flying (Cherry)
3. Know You Now
4. Fuck Me Pumps
5. I Heard Love Is Blind
6. Moody's Mood For Love (Teo Licks)
7. (There Is) No Greater Love
8. In My Bed
9. Take The Box
10. October Song
11. What It Is About Men
12. Help Yourself
13. Amy Amy Amy [outro]

Back To Black (2006)

Back To Black
1. Rehab
2. You Know I'm No Good
3. Me And Mr Jones (Fuckery)
4. Just Friends
5. Back To Black
6. Love Is A Losing Game
7. Tears Dry On Their Own
8. Wake Up Alone
9. Some Unholy War
10. He Can Only Hold Her
11. Addicted
Amy Winehouse discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Amy Winehouse albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist