100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Anberlin bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Anberlin band

Anberlin photo 2010

Anberlin Biography

Comprising lead singer Stephen Christian, lead guitarist Joeseph Milligan, guitarist Joey Bruce, bassist Deon Rexroat and drummer Nathan Young, Orlando, Florida USA-based Anberlin first came into the public's eye as an Alternative-Rock band in the summer of 2002 when they signed to Tooth & Nail Records.

The group wasted no time implementing a relentless live schedule, developing a national fanbase and in May 2003 released their debut full-length disc, "Blueprints For The Black Market"; the album immediately received critical acclaim, something Anberlin had no problem backing up on stage as they joined tours with bands like Fall Out Boy, My Chemical Romance and Story Of The Year.

By early 2005, the band delivered their sophomore CD, "Never Take Friendship Personal". Joey Bruce, who left between the recordings of the two Tooth & Nail albums, was replaced by new guitarist, Nathan Strayer; the album eventually hit #3 on the Billboard's Top Heatseekers list and reached the #144 position on The Billboard Top 200 Sales chart. Markedly more mature both musically and lyrically, this album spun off the Modern Rock top 40 hit single "Paperthin Hymn", established the Central Florida alt-Rock quintet as more than another underground sensation and showed that there was no limit to what the band could achieve.

This same trend was evident with Anberlin's third album "Cities"; released in February 2007, the 12-track set, debuted at #19 on The Billboard 200 and although the lead single, "Godspeed", didn't break into the charts, "Cities" became a massive hit on the Top Christian Albums list, falling just one position short of #1.

A new line-up member, guitarist Christian McAlhaney and a step up to a major label added up to Anberlin's best sense of direction yet and therefore their strongest output in their prolific career, the band's fourth album and the first on Universal Republic, "New Surrender", arrived in September 2008. It opened up at the top of the Billboard's Christian Albums chart and peaked at #13 on The Billboard 200. The first single, "Feel Good Drag", was a reworked version of 2005's "The Feel Good Drag", the song became a huge smash on radio stations rocketing to #1 on The Hot Modern Rock Tracks; the follow-up single "Breaking" reached #24 on the same chart.

September 2009 saw the Florida quintet release their cover of New Order's "True Faith"; the single crawled up to #35 on The Alternative Songs chart.

Anberlin's fifth studio album arrived exactly one year later; "Dark Is The Way Light Is A Place" quickly catapulted into the top 10 of The Billboard 200 while the first single "Impossible" hit #5 on The Alternative Songs and #14 The Rock Songs charts. The album also featured a second Alternative Rock top 40 single: "Closer".

Latest News:

The group will be releasing their next full-length disc, "Vital", on October 16 via Universal Republic Records. The 11-track set includes the single "Someone Anyone".


Anberlin biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Anberlin pictures:

  • Anberlin 2005 Anberlin 2005
    The band line-up 2005
  • Anberlin 2007 Anberlin 2007
    Anberlin 2007