100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Anthrax bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Anthrax band

Anthrax photo 2011

Anthrax Biography

This Heavy-Metal Thrash-Metal band was formed in 1981 in New York City, New York USA. Three years passed along with several line-up changes and finally, in 1984, two guitarists Scott Ian and Dan Spitz, bassist Dan Lilker, drummer Charlie Benante and vocalist Neil Turbin recorded a full album.

The disc, "Fistful Of Metal", was released in January 1984 on Megaforce Records and a U.S. tour followed.

Lilker left the band before the release of the next album, 1985's "Armed And Dangerous"; bassist Frank Bello joined the band, but most noticeable was the addition of the new singer, Joey Belladonna, who replaced Turbin.

That same year Anthrax signed a contract with Island Records who released "Spreading The Disease"; the record took them into The Billboard 200 chart for the first time.

Two years later, "Among The Living" climbed The Billboard 200 reaching the #62 position and went gold.
The 6-track EP "I'm The Man" followed soon after peaking at #53 in U.S. where it sold over one million units and hit the U.K. Top 20.

1988's "State Of Euphoria" broke into The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart at #30 and the quintet became one of the most acclaimed Speed-Metal Thrash-Metal band not only in America but also in Europe.

In the early '90s they released two more charting albums, "Persistence Of Time" and "Attack Of The Killer B's", both were certified gold.

In 1992 Anthrax signed a new deal with Elektra, kicked Belladonna out of the band and replaced him with John Bush. Their first album with Bush, 1993's "Sound Of White Noise", became their highest charting album in U.S. after peaking at #7 on The Billboard 200. The CD included two singles, "Only" grabbed a #26 spot on The Mainstream Rock chart and "Black Lodge" reached #38 on the same chart.

Two years later, co-founder guitarist Spitz departed from the band, which continued as a four-piece, releasing "Stomp 442", but the record missed the top 40 of The Billboard 200 chart and due to the poor commercial reception of the album, Anthrax was dropped from Elektra.

After a three-year hiatus, in 1998 the veteran Metal group issued their eleventh LP, "Volume 8 - The Threat Is Real".

Anthrax resurfaced five years later, with a new line-up: Charlie Benante on drums + guitars, Rob Caggiano as lead guitarist, Scott Ian on rhythm guitar, Frank Bello on bass and lead singer John Bush; "We've Come For You All" was released in May of 2003 prefaced by the single "Safe Home".

"Worship Music", the long awaited next studio album from Anthrax, arrived in September 2011. Not only is "Worship Music" the band's first studio release in eight years, but the album marks the return of vocalist Joey Belladonna, whose last studio work with the band was 1990's "Persistence Of Time". The disc hit #12 on The Billboard 200 and the main single, "The Devil You Know", charted in the the top 30 of the heritage Rock airplay list.


Anthrax biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Anthrax pictures:

  • Anthrax band late 80s Anthrax band late 80s
    Group shot late '80s
  • Anthrax band photo 2003 Anthrax band photo 2003
    Anthrax 2003