100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Atreyu bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Atreyu band

Atreyu photo 2007

Atreyu Biography

Alternative-Metal Black-Metal band formed in Orange County, California USA, in early 2000 from the ashes of a hardcore-Punk outfit which comprised the key members of Atreyu: vocalist Alex Varkatzas, guitarist Daniel Jacobs and drummer Brandon Saller. Following several line-up changes, the new band was completed by the addition of second guitarist Travis Miguel and bassist Christopher Thomson.

The quintet recorded a couple of demo-discs and during 2001 released an EP titled "Fractures In The Facade Of Your Porcelain Beauty" on Tribunal Records.

A year later the band signed a deal with Chicago's Victory Records label who released their debut full-length album, "Suicide Notes And Butterfly Kisses"; the crew hit the road to support it, playing clubs across North-America.

Atreyu headed home in late 2003 to write and record their second album, "The Curse", which was issued in mid-2004; in the meantime Thomson left the group to be replaced by bass player Mark McKnight; the support of Active Rock radio and the summer Ozzfest Tour propelled the album to #32 on The Billboard Top 200 and to #1 on the Top Independent Albums charts.

In 2005 the group contributed their rendition of Bon Jovi's "You Give Love A Bad Name" to the soundtrack of the hit movie "Mr. And Mrs. Smith".
The Californian metallers returned in March 2006 with their best-selling album to date, "A Deathgrip On Yesterday"; the 9-track set peaked at #9 on The Billboard 200 while the main single, "Ex's And Oh's", reached the #24 position on The Hot Mainstream Rock chart.

In June 2007 Atreyu launched a game in which fans were able to hear and arrange snippets of hook-laden first single, the Hot Mainstream Rock top 5 smash "Becoming The Bull". The group's Hollywood Records debut and fourth full-length CD overall, "Lead Sails Paper Anchor", arrived two months later going straight to #8 on The Billboard Top 200. Shortly thereafter, the Punk oriented tune "Falling Down" scaled the U.S. radio charts to #3 on The Hot Modern Rock Tracks and to #5 on Hot Mainstream Rock list. The final single, "Slow Burn", became their fourth The Hot Mainstream Rock entry at #16.

The metalcore quintet have a new single out called "Storm To Pass"; the song is off their new record "Congregation Of The Damned", due out October 27, 2009.


Atreyu biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Atreyu pictures:

  • Atreyu band 2002 Atreyu band 2002
    Group shot 2002
  • Atreyu band 2006 Atreyu band 2006
    Atreyu 2006