100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Avatar bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Avatar band

Avatar band 2012

Avatar Biography

Founded in the then young boy John Alfredsson's mind by the turn of the millennium, the progressive Alternative-Metal outfit Avatar began in Göteborg, SWEDEN, around the core of Johannes Eckerström on vocals, Jonas Kungen Jarlsby on guitar and Alfredsson on drums. They were joined by bassist Henrik Sandelin and guitarist Simon Andersson to record an indie 4-track EP.

The group's debut album, "Thoughts Of No Tomorrow", filled with brutal, technical melodic Death-Metal, was released in the fall of 2006 on the Swedish label Gain Music Entertainment.

They followed it up with their sophomore album, "Schlacht", the first release that took them into their native Sweden top 40, this led to coveted opening slots, with such popular acts as In Flames and Stone Sour.

Avatar's self-titled album was released in November 2009 and soon entered the Swedish chart, where, like its predecessor, it stayed one week debuting at #36. The disc eventually received wide distribution early next year.

In January 2012 the quintet released "Black Waltz", the band's first effort that charted in U.S. reaching #49 on the Billboard's Top Heatseekers list highlighted by excellent cuts like "Smells Like A Freakshow" and "Let It Burn".
After the album release, Andersson left the fold, being replaced by new guitarist Tim Öhrström.

Latest News:

Avatar will release its new album, "Hail The Apocalypse", on May 13, 2014, via eOne Music in U.S. and May 16 through Gain in Europe. The set includes the single/video "Bloody Angel".


Avatar band biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Avatar pictures:

  • Swedish band Avatar 2009 Swedish band Avatar 2009
    Group shot 2009