100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Bad English

Bad English bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Bad English

Bad English photo 1989
[L-R] Ricky Phillips. Jonathan Cain, Neal Schon, John Waite and Deen Castronovo

Bad English Biography

The superstar Rock band Bad English formed in 1988, reuniting vocalist John Waite with keyboardist Jonathan Cain, his former bandmate in The Babys; Cain, guitarist Neal Schon and drummer Deen Castronovo had already played together in Journey, Bad English's line-up also included another ex-Babys, bass player Ricky Phillips.

The quintet released their self-titled debut album in June 1989 on Epic Records, it peaked at #21 on The Billboard Top 200 chart and featured the massive smash hit single "When I See You Smile" which soared to the #1 slot on The Billboard Hot 100 and cracked the top 10 of The Mainstream Rock chart; the follow-up single, "Price Of Love" climbed into the top 5 of The Billboard Hot 100 and "Possession" reached #21 on the same chart. The subsequent singles, "Forget Me Not" and "Best Of What I Got", peaked at #2 and #9, respectively, on Billboard's Mainstream Rock Tracks; the sixth and final single off of the album, "Heaven Is A 4 Letter Word", reached the #12 spot on the Active Rock chart.

In the summer of 1991 the group released its sophomore effort, "Backlash", which surprisingly failed to rise above #72 on The Billboard 200 Albums chart, with only one Mainstream Rock top 10 hit single in "Straight To Your Heart".

Bad English called it quits soon after the album release. John Waite went on to resume his solo career, Schon and Cain re-formed Journey in the mid-'90s, Ricky Phillips joined the Hard-Rock project created by Whitesnake frontman David Coverdale and former Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page.


Bad English biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Bad English pictures:

  • nopic nopic
    no more pics available

Bad English (1989)

Bad English self-titled album
1. Best Of What I Got
2. Heaven Is A 4 Letter Word
3. Possession
4. Forget Me Not
5. When I See You Smile
6. Tough Times Don't Last
7. Ghost In Your Heart
8. Price Of Love
9. Ready When You Are
10. Lay Down
11. The Restless Ones
12. Rockin' Horse
13. Don't Walk Away

Backlash (1991)

1. So This Is Eden
2. Straight To Your Heart
3. Time Stood Still
4. The Time Alone With You
5. Dancing Off The Edge Of The World
6. Rebel Say A Prayer
7. Savage Blue
8. Pray For Rain
9. Make Love Last
10. Life At The Top
Bad English discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Bad English albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist