100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Barenaked Ladies

Barenaked Ladies bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Barenaked Ladies band

Barenaked Ladies photo 2010

Barenaked Ladies Biography

The Alternative-Rock Pop-Rock act Barenaked Ladies was formed in 1988 during a summer camp in Toronto, Ontario CANADA, by two vocalists + guitarists: Steven Page and Ed Robertson. The two guys decided to expand the band by adding their high school friends, bassist Jim Creeggan and his brother Andrew on keyboards; drummer Tyler Stewart soon joined and the band was complete.

The group recorded an independent self-titled cassette in 1990, known as "The Yellow Tape", which became a surprise hit in their homeland.

They were then signed to Sire/Reprise who issued "Gordon" in 1992, the record went gold in Canada producing such hits as "Brian Wilson", "If I Had A $1,000,000" and "Be My Yoko Ono".

Two years later, "Maybe You Should Drive", has cracked The Billboard's Top 200 Albums chart, but shortly after the record was released, Andrew Creeggan left the band to go back to school.

Kevin Hearn took over the keyboards in time for the third album, "Born On A Pirate Ship", which reached the #111 slot on The Billboard Top 200 chart in 1996; it included their first Billboard's Hot 100 entry: "The Old Apartment".

The band's audience built slowly since 1998 when exploded "Stunt", in fact it peaked at #2 on the Canadian Albums chart and also hit the top 3 of The Billboard 200 Stateside; the main single, "One Week", shot to #1 on both The Billboard Hot 100 and The Modern Rock Tracks and it ended up becoming a worldwide hit, particularly in Great Britain. Another single, "It's All Been Done", hit #15 on The Modern Rock chart, its follow-up, "Alcohol", made top 40 on the same chart and the final single, "Call And Answer", received significant airplay on Adult Contemporary stations.
Hearn had been diagnosed with leukemia that same year, he had to take several months away from the band; after a bone marrow transplant that eliminated all the cancer cells, the keyboardist was ready to re-joined the group.

In the fall of 1999 the band contributed a song to "King Of The Hill" soundtrack TV series; this single, entitled "Get In Line", broke into the Adult Top 40 chart.

In September 2000 Barenaked Ladies returned with a brand new album, "Maroon", it soon climbed into the top 5 of the North American Albums charts on the strenght of three triple-A radio hit singles, "Falling For The First Time", "Too Little Too Late" and "Pinch Me" the latter of which also crossed over to The Billboard Hot 100 peaking at #15.

The next year the Toronto-based five-piece band released a Greatest Hits that celebrated the first decade of their career.

Their sixth LP of new material, "Everything To Everyone", followed in late 2003, the record hit the top 10 on both Canadian and U.S. Albums charts and generated two Billboard's Adult Top 40 hits in "Another Postcard" and "Testing 1, 2, 3".

In October 2004 Barenaked Ladies released a compilation entitled "Barenaked For The Holidays" which collected traditional re-worked songs as well as a few new tracks, including "Elf's Lament" recorded in collaboration with Michael Bublé. The set was released by the quintet through their own label, Desperation Records.

"Barenaked Ladies Are Me", their seventh studio album, arrived in September 2006 reaching #7 in Canada and #17 in U.S. but both the first two singles, "Easy" and "Wind It Up", failed to dent the charts.
Although recorded during the same studio sessions, "Barenaked Ladies Are Men", a companion disc to the predecessor, was released in February 2007, it barely got a toehold on the top 40 of the Canadian Albums chart and didn't rise higher than #102 on The Billboard 200.

In May 2008 the band issued "Snacktime!" a collection of original children's songs but just two months later Steven Page was arrested in New York and charged with possession of controlled substance. He left the band in early 2009 to “pursue other opportunities”, some of those opportunities presumably included recovering from a cocaine habit.

"All In Good Time" is the name of the new Barenaked Ladies album, the 11th from this Canadian institution and their first as a new four-piece. The CD, which is expected in stores on March 30, 2010, includes the single "You Run Away".


Barenaked Ladies biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Barenaked Ladies pictures:

  • Barenaked Ladies band lineup 2003 Barenaked Ladies band lineup 2003
    The band line-up 2003, LtoR: Steven Page, Jim Creeggan, Ed Robertson, Kevin Hearn and Tyler Stewart
  • Barenaked Ladies band 2006 Barenaked Ladies photo
    Barenaked Ladies band 2006