100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Bell X1

Bell X1 bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Bell X1 band

Bell X1 band photo 2013

Bell X1 Biography

Hailing from Celbridge, County Kildare IRELAND, the Alternative-Rock troop Bell X1, formed out of the ashes of Juniper, a band well respected and admired. However Juniper collapsed following record company problems and the loss of their frontman and the group spent a number of years in limbo.
In 1999 the band regrouped around Paul Noonan who moved from drums to to lead vocals + guitar, David Geraghty on lead guitar, Brian Crosby on keyboards + guitar and Dominic Philips on bass.

Promoting their Universal debut album, "Neither Am I", recorded in the summer/autumn of 1999 with Nick Seymour of Crowded House and released in Ireland a year later, Bell X1 aired a couple of excellent singles, including the national top 40 hit "Man On Mir". They were frequently joined on tour by drummer Tim O'Donovan.

"Music In Mouth" was released in July 2003 and with their second album on the shelves, the group took to the road on a major concert tour opening for the likes of Keane, Starsailor, Aqualung and Snow Patrol. The album's main single, "Eve, The Apple Of My Eye" made a mid-chart appearance in U.K. and hit the top 20 on the Irish Pop chart.

Recorded in Dublin and mixed in London the follow-up album, "Flock", was issued in Ireland in October 2005 and went straight to #1 on the Pop chart. The record was released in the U.K. in early 2006 and two years later in U.S. earning the band excellent reviews. The lead single, "Rocky Took A Lover", was another national top 20 hit and eventually earned considerable airplay among alt-Rock radio stations Stateside.
However Crosby decided to leave the band at the end of the "Flock" promotional tour.

The band's central trio of Paul Noonan, Dave Geraghty and Dominic Phillips penned every song on the Bell X1's fourth album, "Blue Lights On The Runway", which came out in February 2009 in Ireland and in early March in U.S. via Yep Roc Records. The 10-song set included the Irish top 3 hit "The Great Defector" and the follow-up single "The Ribs Of A Broken Umbrella".

The group issued their next album, "Bloodless Coup", in April 2011; it contained the minor hit single "Velcro".

Latest News:

The Ireland's trio has set "Chop Chop", as the title for their sixth full-length album, which will be available on June 28, 2013, in Ireland, July 1 in Europe and on July 2, 2013, in North America. It includes the single "The End Is Nigh".


Bell X1 biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Bell X1 pictures:

  • Bell X1 band lineup 2001 Bell X1 band lineup 2001
    The band line-up 2001
  • Bell X1 band 2007 Bell X1 band 2007
    Bell X1 band 2007