100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Biffy Clyro

Biffy Clyro bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Biffy Clyro

Biffy Clyro photo 2012

Biffy Clyro Biography

Biffy Clyro got its start in 1995 when vocalist + guitarist Simon Neil and schoolfriend twins James and Ben Johnston, on bass and drums respectively, formed their first band as young teenagers at school in the nearby town of Kilmarnock, 17 miles from Glasgow City Centre, SCOTLAND, over a shared love of experimental Rock and hardcore. In 1997 the trio relocated to Glasgow to study audio engineering and electronics in music, but primarily to turn Biffy Clyro into a full-time proposition.

Debut single "Iname" was unleashed in May 1999 by manager Dee Bahl, with the charmingly-titled "thekidswhopoptodaytwillrocktomorrow" EP following soon after on Electric Honey.
The next year Biffy Clyro were signed to Beggars Banquet and released a new single titled "27" in October 2000.
"Justboy" preceded debut album "Blackened Sky", released in early 2001; it was one of the most critically-acclaimed underground albums of 2002.

The band's second full-length disc, "The Vertigo Of Bliss", was recorded in one day and released in June 2003; it contained their first U.K. top 40 hit single, "Questions And Answers".

"Infinity Land" followed a year later, generating the British top 40 hit singles "My Recovery Injection" and "Only One Word Comes To Mind".

Biffy Clyro resurfaced in June 2007 with the highly lauded fourth album "Puzzle", it peaked at #2 on the Official U.K. Sales chart; eventually winning them opening slots for such top artists as Muse, Linkin Park and Queens Of The Stone Age. The CD included the top 40 hit single "Living Is A Problem Because Everything Dies" which also earned airplay on alt-Rock radio in America.

August 2008 saw the release of the single "Mountains", it debuted at #5 on the U.K. Pop chart.
This track was eventually included on the Scots progressive indie rockers' fifth full album, "Only Revolutions" which arrived in stores in November 2009; it sported three more British Top 20 hits: "That Golden Rule", "The Captain" and "Many Of Horrors", the lettar of which became their first song to break the U.S. Hot Modern Rock chart peaking at #33.

Latest News:

Biffy Clyro's sixth studio, "Opposites, is a double album split over two CDs; the first disc is called "The Sand At The Core Of Our Bones" while the second is titled "The Land At The End Of Our Toes". The band have selected "Black Chandelier" as the first single off their upcoming album, due in January 2013.


Biffy Clyro biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Biffy Clyro pictures:

  • Biffy Clyro band 2004 Biffy Clyro band 2004
    Group shot 2004
  • Biffy Clyro 2007 Biffy Clyro 2007
    Biffy Clyro 2007