100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Black Lab

Black Lab bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Black Lab band

Black Lab photo 2006

Black Lab Biography

The Alternative-Rock project Black Lab was formed in 1997 by lead singer + guitarist & songwriter Paul Durham following the split of his previous band. Durham grew up in Twin Falls, Idaho USA, before moving to San Francisco to pursue his passion for musical invention. He recorded and toured with a group of friends under the moniker Durham; the band broke up after just one album, but a deal with Geffen Records followed. Paul Durham then recruited guitarist Michael Belfer, bassist Geoff Stanfield and drummer Bryan Head to form Black Lab.

In October 1997, the quartet released their debut album, "Your Body Above Me"; it reached the top 20 of the Billboard's Heatseekers chart producing "Wash It Away" which peaked at #6 on The Mainstream Rock Tracks and at #13 on The Modern Rock chart; the second single, "Time Ago", also managed to crack the top 30 of the Billboard's Rock airplay charts.

Over the next two years, Durham left his band, fired his manager and moved to Los Angeles where he teamed-up with multi-instrumentalist Andy Ellis. The long awaited sophomore release from Black Lab was self-released in October 2005, the CD titled "See The Sun", featured "Learn To Crawl" which was tapped as the fourth track on the platinum "Spider-Man" soundtrack.

Five years in the making, 2007's "Passion Leaves A Trace" found Black Lab returning to the experimental edge of their critically acclaimed Geffen debut; the disc included the single "This Night".

Though the band performed with a revolving door line-up, Durham and Ellis remained the core of Black Lab who issued "Two Strangers", its fourth album of original material, in October 2010.


Black Lab biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Black Lab pictures:

  • Black Lab band lineup 1997 Black Lab band lineup 1997
    The band line-up 1997

Your Body Above Me (1997)

Your Body Above Me
1. Wash It Away
2. She Loves Me
3. X-Ray
4. Time Ago
5. Can't Keep The Rain
6. Thin White Lie
7. Anything
8. Ten Million Years
9. All The Money In The World
10. Sleeps With Angels
11. Bring It On
12. Gates Of The Country

See The Sun (2005)

See The Sun
1. See The Sun
2. Remember
3. Lonely Boy
4. Perfect Girl
5. Ecstasy
6. Tell Me Why
7. Without You
8. Dream In Color
9. Learn To Crawl
10. Wide Open
11. Lifelike
12. Circus Lights

Passion Leaves A Trace (2007)

Passion Leaves A Trace
1. Mine Again
2. Ghost In Your Mind
3. The Real You
4. This Night
5. Gone
6. A Day Alone
7. Weightless
8. Pictures Of People
9. Broken Heart
10. Sun And Moon
11. Good
12. The Window

Two Strangers (2010)

Two Strangers
1. This Ship Goes Down Deep
2. Something You Don't Know
3. Bound
4. Start A Fire
5. Always
6. Slow Down
7. The Pain Is Gone
8. Dying Just To Hold You
9. Close To You
10. I Believe It
11. Say Goodbye
12. Love To Love You
Black Lab discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Black Lab albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist