100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Bobaflex bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Bobaflex photo 2012

Bobaflex Biography

In 1998 lead vocalist + bassist Shaun McCoy and vocalist + guitarist Marty McCoy formed the Alternative-Metal outfit Bobaflex, in Point Pleasant, West Virginia USA, making it a full-time thing in 2000 when the two brothers were joined by lead guitarist Mike Steele, bassist Jerod Mankin and drummer Ronnie Castro.

The group then recorded an EP and set out on their first national tours, sharing stages with Nickleback, Disturbed, Filter, Sevendust and Mushroomhead.
"Primitive Epic", Bobaflex's second EP was released independently in September 2002 and quickly caught the attention of New Jersey's Eclipse Records.

Drummer Thomas Johnson joined up for 2003's "Primitive Epic" full-length album, following the departure of original drummer Ronnie Castro; the 10-track set included remixes from their previous songs as well as new material.

August 2005 saw the release of "Apologize For Nothing", the quintet's debut on TVT Records; the album featured the single "Better Than Me".
The West Virginian rockers proved to be one of the hardest working bands in the scene by simply jumping in their van and playing non-stop gigs around the country. The band possesses an exceptional live show with members constantly switching instruments and swapping turns on lead vocals.

Expanding on the brutality of their second album, Bobaflex's third outing, "Tales From Dirt Town", incorporates elements of Classic-Rock shaking up an already schizophrenic sound of heavy riffs and growling to harmonious vocals traded off by the band's four vocalists. "Home" was selected as the album's first single.
Just a few months after the band released this CD, TVT Records, once voted Billboard's Top Independent Record Label for five consecutive years between 2001 and 2006, went bankrupt. Also around this time founding member Mike Steele left the fold and was replaced by new guitarist Chris Grogan.

During 2010 Bobaflex recorded new material in Detroit for their next album, "Hell In My Heart", which included two singles "Chemical Valley" and "Bury Me With My Guns On". The CD was issued in August 2011 on BFX Records/Megaforce and shortly after the album release Grogan was replaced by Dave Tipple.

Bobaflex issued its fifth full-length disc, "Charlatan's Web", in September 2013, it reached #37 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers list. "Bad Man", the first single off the album, got some airplay on Active Rock stations.


Bobaflex biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Bobaflex pictures:

  • Bobaflex band 2003 Bobaflex band 2003
    Group shot 2003
  • Bobaflex 2005 Bobaflex 2005
    Bobaflex in 2005