100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Buffalo Tom

Buffalo Tom bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Buffalo Tom

Buffalo Tom photo 2007

Buffalo Tom Biography

Buffalo Tom is an Alternative-Rock band who built up a following with fuzz-laden guitars, effervescent melodies and muscle-building tours; the trio of Bill Janovitz on vocals + guitar, Chris Colbourn on bass and Tom Maginnis on drums, formed in Boston, Massachusetts USA, in the mid-'80s and gelled into a solid unit that has remained unbroken.

Their eponymous first album was released on SST in 1989 and relied on raw, fresh power chords, exemplified in the searing opener "Sunflower Suit".

Buffalo Tom's second LP, "Birdbrain", released on Beggars Banquet in November of 1990, showed the band and Janovitz in particular, getting to grips with the personal angst and alienation that was to recur throughout their later material; the album received some national airplay with the title-track.

"Let Me Come Over", followed in spring 1992, the first single, "Taillights Fade" a power ballad that opens gently and reaches a soul-wrenching crescendo, became a standard request on alt-Rock stations and "Mineral" had a wistful folkier strand woven round a delicious melody, however, the album didn't sell as well as it deserved.

In November of the following year Buffalo Tom delivered their first Billboard charting album, "Big Red Letter Day", which notched the Modern Rock top 10 hit "Soda Jerk".

The Boston rockers' next album, "Sleepy Eyed", was released at around the time of the band's excellent set at the Reading Festival in 1995 and was perhaps their finest effort to date; recorded at Dreamland, a converted church in Woodstock, it reached #160 on The Billboard 200 and peaked at #4 on the Top Heatseekers Albums list, producing the fresh grungy single "Tangerine".

Their sixth album, "Smitten", was released in September 1998 to little fanfare.

The veteran alt-Rock trio broke a nine-year hiatus from the studio with "Three Easy Pieces", a 13-song set which was issued through New West Records in July 2007; the album included the single "You'll Never Catch Him".

Buffalo Tom issued their eighth studio set, called "Skins", in March 2011. The album, which included the radio single "Guilty Girls", served as the launch for the band's own Scrawny Records.


Buffalo Tom biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Buffalo Tom pictures:

  • Buffalo Tom band mid 90s Buffalo Tom band mid 90s
    Buffalo Tom in the mid-'90s