100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Bush bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Bush band

Bush photo 2011

Bush Biography

Hailing from West London, ENGLAND, this Alternative-Rock band was formed in 1992 by vocalist + guitarist Gavin Rossdale, guitarist Nigel Pulsford, bassist Dave Parsons and drummer Robin Goodridge. The band's grungy background made them extremely popular in America.

Initially self-released in a limited run, the group's first album "Sixteen Stone", was picked up by Interscope Records, thus their debut disc became a surprise hit in the United States where the album peaked at #4 on The Billboard Top 200 chart and generated an amazing string of five Modern Rock top 5 hit singles including two #1s: "Glycerine" and "Comedown", the #2 "Everything Zen", "Little Things" and "Machinehead"; all of those singles stormed the top 10 of the Billboard's Active Rock chart; "Comedown" and "Glycerine" also enjoyed chart success on The Billboard Hot 100 by reaching the #30 and #28 spots, respectively. "Sixteen Stone" sold more than 7 million copies worldwide.

Two years later Bush released its second album, "Razorblade Suitcase", which went straight to #1 on The Billboard Top 200 chart, it spawned two singles which smashed into the top 5 of both Mainstream and Modern Rock charts: "Swallowed" and "Greedy Fly"; the CD achieved a career-best peak of #4 in their native England, meanwhile, sales of their sophomore album, stalled at around 2 million copies.

November 1997 saw the band issue the remixes compilation "Deconstructed" which reached the #36 position in U.S. and #14 on the Top Canadian Albums charts.

In the fall of 1999, they released their third album of new material, "The Science Of Things", it was delayed for nearly a year because of legal disputes with the band's label, Trauma; the record peaked at #11 on The Billboard Top 200 chart and yielded "The Chemicals Between Us", which rose to #1 on The Modern Rock Tracks, to #3 on The Mainstream Rock list and made a mid-chart appearance on The Billboard Hot 100; the platinum-certified "The Science Of Things" included two more Active Rock top 30 hits: "Warm Machine" and "Letting The Cables Sleep", the latter of which crested at the #4 position on the alt-Rock airplay chart.

Bush returned in October of 2001 with the Active Rock top 10 hit single, "The People That We Love" which was released in advance of their fourth studio album and Atlantic Records debut, "Golden State"; it reached the #22 slot on the U.S. Top 200 and was supported by a successful American tour. Frustrated by the disappointing sales of the CD and lack of support the band was receiving from Atlantic, Nigel Pulsford announced his departure in May; Helmet guitarist Chris Traynor was added as a touring member; not long after the band decided to go on indefinite hiatus.

In mid-2002 Gavin Rossdale's first solo track, "Adrenaline" appeared on "XXX" original soundtrack. During 2005 he assembled his new band, Institute and three years later Rossdale delivered his first solo album, "Wanderlust".

Rossdale assembled a new line-up of Bush, retaining guitarist Chris Traynor, drummer Robin Goodridge and replacing bassist Dave Parsons with Corey Britz around the mid-2010; that August a new single titled "Afterlife" peaked at #22 on The Alternative Songs chart. The band's highly anticipated comeback album, "The Sea Of Memories", was finally released in September 2011; it debuted at #18 on The Billboard 200 while the lead-off single "The Sound Of Winter" hit #1 The Alternative Songs on and #3 on The Rock Songs charts.


Bush biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Bush pictures:

  • Bush band lineup mid 90s Bush band lineup mid 90s
    The band line-up mid-'90s
  • Bush band 2002 Bush band 2002
    LtoR: Nigel Pulsford, Robin Goodridge, Gavin Rossdale and Dave Parsons (2002)