100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Cake bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Cake band 2010

Cake band photo 2010

Cake Biography

Out of Northern California's flat, dry central valley, the Alternative-Rock outfit Cake formed in the early '90s as a somewhat antagonistic answer to Grunge. The group from Sacramento, California USA, led by vocalist John McCrea, originally consisted of guitarist Greg Brown, bassist Sean McFessel, trumpeter Vince DiFiore and drummer Frank French.

Shortly before the band released its first single, "Rock 'N' Roll Lifestyle?", which reached the #31 position on The Modern Rock chart, bass player Gabe Nelson replaced McFesse. In 1993 they self-released "Motorcade Of Generosity" which was later re-issued by Capricorn Records. Nelson and French left the band before they embarked on the first tour and were replaced by bassist Victor Damiani and drummer Todd Roper.

In 1996 Cake's second effort, "Fashion Nugget", climbed into the top 40 of The Billboard 200 Albums chart and the single "The Distance" shot to #4 on The Modern Rock chart, the album contained another Modern Rock top 40 hit: the ironic re-worked of the classic dance-tune "I Will Survive".

Over the course of 1997 the group lost both Brown and Damiani; when bassist Gabe Nelson returned to the fold, the band began recording their third LP, "Prolonging The Magic", which arrived in October of 1998, it soared to #33 on The Billboard Top 200 chart highlighted by their best charting single to date, "Never There", the song rose to #1 on The Modern Rock Tracks and even charted in such far away places as Brazil and Turkey. Two more singles grazed the U.S. Modern Rock chart, "Sheep Go To Heaven" crested at #16 and "Let Me Go" reached the #28 spot.
Following the album's release the band added new guitarist Xan McCurdy to the line-up.

The Sacramento-born group resurfaced in July of 2001 with "Comfort Eagle"; released by Columbia Records, their fourth effort hit #13 in U.S. and crashed into Top Canadian Albums chart at #7. The disc presented such favorites as the lead single, "Short Skirt / Long Jacket" which peaked at #7 on The Modern Rock chart, "Love You Madly" and "Shadow Stabbing".

Released in October 2004, "Pressure Chief", was met with critical praise for its signature match of “post-new wave with smart lyrics”, according to the New York Times; this album also marks the recording debut of new deummer Paulo Baldi. The CD peaked at #17 on The Billboard 200 producing "No Phone", a single which landed at #13 on The Modern Rock chart.

Cake returned in January 2011 with its sixth studio album, "Showroom Of Compassion" which was recorded in the band's recently-constructed studio powered entirely by solar energy. The disc included the single "Sick Of You".


Cake biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Cake pictures:

  • Cake band 2004 Cake band 2004
    [L-R] Vince DiFiore, John McCrea, Xan McCurdy and Gabe Nelson (2004)