100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Carbon Leaf

Carbon Leaf bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Carbon Leaf

Carbon Leaf photo 2009

Carbon Leaf Biography

Barry Privett on vocals, Terry Clark on guitar + vocals, Carter Gravatt on guitar + mandolin, Jordan Medas on bass and Scott Milstead on drums + percussion generate the Celtic roots-Rock sounds of Carbon Leaf; the group met while attending Randolph-Macon College in Ashland, Virginia USA, in 1992.

"Meander", Carbon Leaf's first 12-songs LP, released in 1996, was written while transitioning from school to the real world.
The band's second album, "Shadows In The Banquet Hall", followed in October 1997, but by that time the commercial bloom was off of the rose and the band took a short break.

Two years later Carbon Leaf returned with "Ether-Electrified Porch Music" and continued to pursue a style fusing roots, progressive and Pop music; their third full-length disc would prove a turning point in the band's musical evolution.

Released in March 2001, Carbon Leaf's fourth independently produced album, "Echo Echo", picked up steam again in 2002, just as it was ending its release cycle when the band performed "The Boxer" at the 2002 American Music Awards. As the first unsigned band to win an AMA for the inaugural Coca-Cola New Music Award, the Virginia-based quintet spent little time celebrating and would return home from L.A. the next day to ship CDs to stores and seek out a support team outside of the band; extensive touring began as a result of "The Boxer" receiving some attention and airplay.

Carbon Leaf blasted into the national spotlight with "Indian Summer", the band's debut album on Vanguard Records which was issued in July 2004 and was supported by a tour opening for such popular acts as Dave Matthews Band, Counting Crows and John Mayer. It included the Adult Top 40 hit "Life Less Ordinary".

September 2006 saw the release of "Love, Loss, Hope, Repeat", their first Billboard Top 200 cracker; it also debuted at #12 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart producing a smaller-scale hit in "Comfort".

At this point, the group faced a major line-up change as Carbon Leaf announced the band's difficult decision to part ways with longtime percussionist Scott Milstead, he was replaced by Jason Neal and bassist Jon Markel joined in the fall of 2008 after another founding member, Jordan Medas left in August of the same year.
In May 2009, the reconfigured quintet released its latest album "Nothing Rhymes With Woman".


Carbon Leaf biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Carbon Leaf pictures:

  • Carbon Leaf band lineup 2001 Carbon Leaf band lineup 2001
    Group shot 2001
  • Carbon Leaf band lineup 2006 Carbon Leaf band lineup 2006
    The band line-up 2006