100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Cat Empire

The Cat Empire bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Cat Empire band

The Cat Empire photo 2005

The Cat Empire Biography

Hailing from Melbourne, AUSTRALIA, The Cat Empire is a six-piece line-up which finds its roots in Jazz, Reggae, Ska and Pop-Rock. Initially the band started out as a trio in late 1999 with Ollie McGill on keys, Felix Riebl on timbales+vocals and Ryan Monro on double bass; in the next year trumpeter+vocalist Harry James Angus, joined the group and the band became something that could no longer be in the background, soon after Will Hull-Brown stepped in on drums; then came Jamshid Khadiwala -a.k.a. Jumps- on decks+percussion, who introduced the band to Hip-Hop culture.

The Cat Empire released their debut eponymously titled full-length album in October 2003, under license in Australia and New Zealand to Virgin Records/EMI; by March 2005 it went double platinum.
"Two Shoes", the second studio record from the Melbourne sextet, was cut at the legendary Egrem Studio in Havava, Cuba and released in October 2005; like their self-titled studio debut, "Two Shoes" was a massive success in Australia, debuting at #1 and its word-of-mouth stoked an already expanding fan base in Europe and North America.
"Cities" The Cat Empire Project, a 13-track experimental CD followed in April 2006.


The Cat Empire biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Cat Empire pictures:

  • The Cat Empire band 2004 The Cat Empire band 2004
    Group shot 2004

The Cat Empire (2004)

The Cat Empire self-titled album
1. How To Explain?
2. Days Like These
3. The Lost Song
4. The Chariot
5. Hello
6. One, Four, Five
7. The Rhythm
8. The Wine Song
9. Nothing
10. Beanni
11. The Crowd
12. Manifesto
13. All That Talking

Two Shoes (2005)

Two Shoes
1. Sly
2. In My Pocket
3. Lullaby
4. The Car Song
5. Two Shoes
6. Miserere
7. Sol Y Sombra
8. Party Started
9. Protons, Neutrons, Electrons
10. Saltwater
11. The Night That Never End And
12. 1001

¬ credited: The Cat Empire Project

Cities (2006)

1. Cities
2. Boogaloo
3. Siente
4. Motion
5. Song For The Day
6. Know Your Name
7. Song For Elias
8. Jungle
9. Down At The 303
10. Side To Side
11. Waltz
12. Luck Song
13. Anymore
The Cat Empire discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Cat Empire albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist