100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Clutch bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Clutch band 2007

Clutch photo 2007

Clutch Biography

Hailing from Germantown, Maryland USA, Clutch offers a blend of Funk, Metal and Stoner-Rock; the quartet were formed in the summer of 1991 by high-school friends vocalist + guitarist Neil Fallon, guitarist Tim Sult, bassist Dan Maines and drummer Jean-Paul Gaster.

Around this time they started booking tours around the region and the following year released an independent single entitled "Pitchfork".
The official debut full-length album, "Transnational Speedway League: Anthems, Anecdotes & Undeniable Truths", was issued in 1993 on EastWest Records.

The band made their first Billboard's Heatseekers chart appearance two years later with their self-titled album which was supported with a tour opening for Pantera.

In 1998, Clutch inked a new deal with Columbia Records who released "The Elephant Riders", the record shot to #1 on the Top Heatseekers Albums chart and became their first Billboard Top 200 chart entry at #104.

The group's next album arrived a year later, but their self-released fourth LP, "Jam Room", failed to chart.

The year 2001 saw the Maryland rockers sign to Atlantic Records and the release of "Pure Rock Fury"; this album reached the #135 slot on The Billboard Top 200 list spawning "Careful With That Mic...", their first Mainstream Rock top 30 hit single.
Since its inception Clutch has played a countless amount of live shows with several NuMetal acts such as Deftones, System Of A Down, Sevendust and many more.

In the spring of 2004 the quartet issued their sixth album, "Blast Tyrant", on DRT Entertainment; it debuted at #4 on The Billboard Top Independent chart and yielded the powerful Mainstream Rock top 40 hit "The Mob Goes Wild".

They returned in mid-2005 with "Robot Hive / Exodus", reaching #94 on The Billboard 200 chart; this album included the Metal-radio single "10001110101" and was the first record to feature new keyboard player Mick Schauer.

March 2007 saw Clutch release its third DRT Entertainment LP, "From Beale Street To Oblivion" and with it the band reached a career-best peak on The Billboard 200 peaking at #54; the disc was preceded by "Power Player", a brand new song which was listed on DRT Entertainment's inaugural podcast and the official first single, the Hot Mainstream Rock top 40 hit "Electric Worry".

Clutch have set "Strange Cousins From The West" as the title of their new album, due on July 7 via the group's own label, Weathermaker Music. The CD was recorded at Magpie Cage studio in Baltimore and will feature 12 tracks including the single "50,000 Unstoppable Watts".


Clutch biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Clutch pictures:

  • Clutch band lineup 2004 Clutch band lineup 2004
    The band line-up 2004