100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Cobra Starship

Cobra Starship bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Cobra Starship

Cobra Starship photo 2009

Cobra Starship Biography

Cobra Starship began in 2006 as the Alternative-Rock side-project of vocalist + bassist Gabe Saporta. He was born in Montevideo, URUGUAY and at age 4 he immigrated to Queens, New York, with dreams of becoming a rockstar. In the late '90s, Saporta formed the Emo-Punk quartet Midtown, scoring a mid-size hit with the album "Forget What You Know" in 2004.

In 2006 Saporta joined forces with Maja Ivarsson from The Sounds, William Beckett lead singer of The Academy Is... and rapper Travis McCoy to cut Cobra Starship's debut single, the Hot Modern Rock top 40 hit "Snakes On A Plane (Bring It)" which was featured on the soundtrack to the Samuel L. Jackson comedy, "Snakes On A Plane".
The band's first album, "When The City Sleeps, We Rule The Streets", followed in October that same year. Saporta assembled a full band, this time around, featuring Ryland Blackinton on lead guitar, Elisa Schwartz on keytar, Alex Suarez on bass and Nate Novarro on drums. Issued by Decaydance/Fueled By Ramen, the group's debut record peaked at #7 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart also crossing over to The Billboard 200.

October 2007 saw the release of the critically acclaimed sophomore effort "iViva La Cobra!" which debuted at #80 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and spawned the alt-Rock radio minor hit single "Guilty Pleasure". The full-length disc marked the recording debut of Victoria Asher who replaced Schwartz on keytar.

Cobra Starship's third album, "Hot Mess", arrives in August 2009; the 11-song set includes the first single "Good Girls Go Bad" which features actress-turned-singer Leighton Meester.


Cobra Starship biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Cobra Starship pictures:

  • Gabe Saporta of Cobra Starship Gabe Saporta of Cobra Starship
    Gabe Saporta
  • Cobra Starship band 2006 Cobra  Starship band 2006
    Cobra Starship 2006, L2R> Travis McCoy, Maja Ivarsson, Gabe Saporta & William Beckett

When The City Sleeps, We Rule The Streets (2006)

When The City Sleeps, We Rule The Streets
1. Being From Jersey Means Never Having To Say You're Sorry
2. Send My Love To The Dancefloor, I'll See You In Hell (Hey Mister DJ)
3. The Church Of Hot Addiction
4. The Kids Are All Fucked Up
5. It's Warmer In The Basement
6. Keep It Simple
7. It's Amateur Night At The Appollo Creed!
8. Bring It (Snakes On A Plane)
9. The Ballad Of Big Poppa And Diamond Girl
10. Pop-Punk Is Sooooo '05
11. You Can't Be Missed If You Never Go Away

iViva La Cobra! (2007)

iViva La Cobra!
1. The City Is At War
2. Guilty Pleasure
3. One Day, Robots Will Cry
4. Kiss My Sass
5. Damn You Look Good And I'm Drunk (Scandalous)
6. The World Has Its Shine (But I Would Drop It On A Dime)
7. Smile For The Paparazzi
8. Angie
9. Prostitution Is The World's Oldest Profession (And I, Dear Madame, Am A Professional)
10. My Moves Are White (White Hot, That Is)
11. Pleasure Ryland

Hot Mess (2009)

Hot Mess
1. Nice Guys Finish Last
2. Pete Wentz Is The Only Reason We're Famous
3. Good Girls Go Bad
4. Fold Your Hands Child
5. You're Not In On The Joke
6. Hot Mess
7. Living In The Sky With Diamonds
8. Wet Hot American Summer
9. The Scene Is Dead; Long Live The Scene
10. Move Like You Gonna Die
11. The World Will Never Do
Cobra Starship discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Cobra Starship albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist