100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Coheed And Cambria

Coheed And Cambria bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Coheed And Cambria

Coheed And Cambria photo 2012
L-R: Josh Eppard, Claudio Sanchez, Travis Stever, Zach Cooper

Coheed And Cambria Biography

This Alternative-Rock band from Nyack, New York USA, was formed in 2001 by vocalist + guitarist Claudio Sanchez, guitarist Travis Stever, bass player Michael Todd and drummer Joshua Eppard.

One year later Coheed And Cambria released their debut album for Equal Visions, "The Second Stage Turbine Blade"; the 10-song set included a single/video titled "Devil In Jersey City" that gained them some noteriety among the prog-Rock and Metal scene.
The group toured relentlessly playing with contemporary acts such as Thrice and AFI, as well as 14 dates on the Warped Tour building a solid and constantly growing fan base.

Their sophomore effort, "In Keeping Secrets Of Silent Earth: 3", recorded over a period of months between tours with The Used and their inaugural visit to Japan, arrived in October 2003, it entered The Billboard Top 200 chart at #52 earning the attention of the major label Columbia Records who signed them and re-released the album. During 2004 the lead single, "A Favor House Atlantic", reached the #13 slot on The Modern Rock chart and "Blood Red Summer" made it into the top 30 on that same chart.

In September 2005 Coheed And Cambria returned with its third album, "Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Volume One: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness"; the intricate title only hints at the density and complexion of the music it contains. It debuted at #7 on The Billboard 200 while the main single, "The Suffering", rose to #16 on The Modern Rock chart and its follow-up, "Welcome Home", peaked at #24 on The Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks.

With "No World For Tomorrow", released in October 2007, the New York-based quartet completed the fourth chapter of the concept album series surrounding fictional character Kilgannon.
Their fourth effort and the band's second release courtesy of Columbia, was recorded in Los Angeles and features Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, replacing original drummer Joshua Eppard. Chris Pennie subsequently took over as the permanent drummer. The disc quickly catapulted into the top 10 of The Billboard 200 Albums chart lead by the single "The Running Free" which hit #19 on The Hot Modern Rock chart and fell just shy of reaching the Active Rock top 30.

The eagerly awaited prequel to "The Amory Wars" tetralogy, a series of comic books written by frontman Claudio Sanchez, "Year Of The Black Rainbow" provided the long awaited prelude to the band's four previous inter-related concept albums. "Year Of The Black Rainbow" was released in April 2010, prefaced by the the video for "The Broken". The record soared to #5 on The Billboard 200 while the lead-off single, "Here We Are Juggernaut", appeared in the top 30 of The Alternative Songs chart.
During the summer of the following year Coheed And Cambria parted ways with longtime bassist Michael Todd. He was arrested July 10 for armed robbery hours before the band gig at the Comcast Center in Mansfield, Massachusetts and released on bail on July 25. Just a few months later, in November when Chris Pennie left to pursue other creative outlets, drummer Josh Eppard rejoined the group and finally they announced Zach Cooper as their new full-time bassist.

Coheed And Cambria resurfaced in the fall of 2012 when they released a new video titled "Domino The Destitute" which is part of their latest effort, an album that came out in two parts, with the first, "The Afterman: Ascension", released in October 2012 and the second half, titled "The Afterman: Descension", out in February 2013.


Coheed And Cambria biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Coheed And Cambria pictures:

  • Coheed And Cambria band lineup 2004 Coheed And Cambria band lineup 2004
    The band line-up 2004
  • Coheed And Cambria band 2007 Coheed And Cambria band 2007
    Coheed And Cambria 2007