100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Corrosion Of Conformity

Corrosion Of Conformity bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Corrosion Of Conformity

Corrosion Of Conformity photo 2011

Corrosion Of Conformity Biography

Corrosion Of Conformity are labeled as one of the first American Hardcore Crossover outfit. Originally a trio named No Labels, the band was formed in Raleigh, North Carolina USA, in 1982 by vocalist + bassist Mike Dean, guitarist Woody Weatherman and drummer Reed Mullin; not long after they were joined by lead vocalist Eric Eyke.

In 1983 Corrosion Of Conformity, often shortened to COC, released its debut album called "Eye For An Eye". The follow-up "Animosity", arrived two years later.

During the mid-'80s both Eyke and Dean left the fold; the band pulled in singer Simon Bob and in 1987 released the more Thrash-Metal oriented "Technocracy".

It wasn't until nearly four years later that the group re-emerged with a new album called "Blind"; during which time Simon Bob had left the band, subsequently Corrosion Of Conformity expanded the line-up to five members with vocalist Karl Agell, guitarist + vocalist Pepper Keenan and bassist Phil Swisher, their fourth album included the Rock-radio single "Vote With A Bullet"; meanwhile the band toured throughout Europe opening for Soundgarden.

Agell was fired in the middle of the national tour and Swisher also left; with Keenan now at the helm as lead singer, the band resurfaced in September 1994 releasing "Deliverance", this album saw the return of original bassist Mike Dean. The record smashed into the top 5 of The Billboard Heatseekers chart and became their first U.S. Top 200 entry at #155 while both "Albatross" and "Clean My Wounds" broke into the top 20 of The Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

The quartet followed up that success with "Wiseblood" two years later, their sixth album reached the #104 position on The Billboard Top 200 chart spawning the Active Rock top 30 hit "Drowning In A Daydream".

Another four years passed before COC returned with a new album, "America's Volume Dealer" was, in fact, released in late September of 2000 but failed to chart and its main single, "Diablo Blvd.", received little airplay.
The group went on the road with Clutch, would support Pantera on their Australian shows in spring 2001 and finally released their first official live-CD titled "Live Volume", that same year.

After another extended break, Keenan, Weatherman and Dean regrouped for the album "In The Arms Of God" in 2005; the disc, which was recorded with drummer Stanton Moore, reached #108 on The Billboard 200, but the lead single, "Rise River Rise", failed to dent the chart.

Corrosion Of Conformity next outing ended a 7-year stretch between albums to bring the fans their self-titled. The set was released in February 2012 and was preceded by the single "The Doom". They are currently operating as a power trio with Woodroe Weatherman on guitar, Mike Dean on bass + vocals and Reed Mullin on drums + vocals.


Corrosion Of Conformity biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Corrosion Of Conformity pictures:

  • Corrosion Of Conformity band mid 90s Corrosion Of Conformity band mid 90s
    C.O.C. mid-'90s
  • Corrosion Of Conformity COC 2001 Corrosion Of Conformity COC 2001
    Corrosion Of Conformity 2001