100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Darkness

The Darkness bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Darkness band 2011

The Darkness photo 2011
from left: Ed Graham, Frankie Poullain, Justin Hawkins and Dan Hawkins

The Darkness Biography

Heavily influenced by '70's Hard-Rock and Glam-Rock, The Darkness was formed in 2000 by two brothers from the Suffolk town of Lowestoft, ENGLAND: falsetto-voiced + guitarist & keyboardist Justin Hawkins and guitarist Dan Hawkins. After relocating to London they put together a band which included bass player Frankie Poullain and drummer Ed Graham and started playing local gigs.

In the summer of 2002 the quartet released their first independent EP, eventually winning opening slots for arena gods like Metallica, Alice Cooper, Deep Purple and Def Leppard.
When their debut full-length disc, "Permission To Land", finally arrived in July 2003, it blew away all expectations, the album shot to #1 in the U.K. spawning three smash singles including the #2 "I Believe In A Thing Called Love", the top 5 hit "Love Is Only A Feeling" and the top 20 entrant "Growing On Me". Upon its American release, "Permission To Land", cracked the top 10 in Canada, reached the #36 position on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and the main single, "I Believe In A Thing Called Love", peaked at #9 on The Modern Rock chart.
Poullain left the group in March 2005, during the recording sessions for the band's sophomore release, claiming he was “forced out”; his replacement was bassist Richie Edwards.

November 2005 saw the release of the band's second album, "One Way Ticket To Hell ...And Back"; the set went a bit beyond the top 10 in U.K. and made it only to the #58 niche on the U.S. Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. It included two British top 10 hits: "One Way Ticket" and "Is It Just Me?".

The Darkness dried up in 2006 when frontman Justin Hawkins left the band to attempt a recovery from drug and alcohol abuse.

After a 5-year hiatus, The Darkness regrouped with their original line-up of Justin Hawkins, brother Dan, Frankie Poullain and Ed Graham. Following three warm-up shows and an appearance at 2011's Download Festival, the band released a free digital single entitled "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us" which was eventually featured on their come-back album "Hot Cakes". The disc debuted at #4 in U.K. and reached #43 on The Billboard 200, however, neither of the singles pulled from it, "Everybody Have A Good Time" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us", were ever able to repeat the chart success of the songs taken from the early albums.


The Darkness biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Darkness pictures:

  • The Darkness band 2004 The Darkness band 2004
    Group shot 2004
  • The Darkness band 2006 The Darkness band 2006
    The Darkness 2006

Permission To Land (2003)

Permission To Land
1. Black Shuck
2. Get Your Hands Off My Woman
3. Growing On Me
4. I Believe In A Thing Called Love
5. Love Is Only A Feeling
6. Givin' Up
7. Stuck In A Rut
8. Friday Night
9. Love On The Rocks With No Ice
10. Holding My Own

One Way Ticket To Hell ...And Back (2005)

One Way Ticket To Hell ...And Back
1. One Way Ticket
2. Knockers
3. Is It Just Me?
4. Dinner Lady Arms
5. Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time
6. Hazel Eyes
7. Bald
8. Girlfriend
9. English Country Garden
10. Blind Man

Hot Cakes (2012)

Hot Cakes
1. Every Inch Of You
2. Nothin's Gonna Stop Us
3. With A Woman
4. Keep Me Hangin' On
5. Living Each Day Blind
6. Everybody Have A Good Time
7. She Just A Girl, Eddie
8. Forbidden Love
9. Concrete
10. Street Spirit (Fade Out)
11. Love Is Not The Answer
The Darkness discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Darkness albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist