100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

David Gilmour

David Gilmour bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

David Gilmour

David Gilmour photo - Live8 2005

David Gilmour Biography

Born March 6, 1946 in Cambridge, ENGLAND, David Gilmour is best known among fans for his characteristically atmospheric guitar work for Pink Floyd; he and Syd Barrett met as children and later, whilst studying at the Cambridgeshire College of Arts and Technology, began playing guitar together. Gilmour was asked to augment the Pink Floyd line-up as the singer and guitarist in 1967, only for Barrett to leave the group five gigs later, struggling with mental illness.
Gilmour's guitar playing and songwriting became major factors of Floyd's worldwide success during the '70s, including his distinctive vocals and guitar playing on "Dark Side Of The Moon", the third most successful album of all time.

As a side-project, he released his first solo album, an eponymous affair, in the spring of 1978; the record reached the #29 slot on the U.S. Top 200 LPs & Tapes list and also charted in Britain.
His second solo effort, "About Face", was released in March 1984; it cracked the top 20 in the U.K. and peaked at #32 on the American Billboard Top 200 Albums chart while the single "Blue Light" hit #62 on The Billboard Hot 100.

Gilmour assumed control of Pink Floyd in 1985, after Roger Waters' departure, creating "A Momentary Lapse Of Reason", the band's first album in four years, with Nick Mason and Rick Wright. "The Division Bell" followed in 1994.
In July 2005, Pink Floyd reunited with Roger Waters for a one-off performance at Live8 in London's Hyde Park, which was regarded by many as the highlight of an astonishing show.

"On An Island", the third David Gilmour album and the artist's first studio recordings since Floyd's 1994 multi-platinum "The Division Bell", was released in early March 2006.


David Gilmour biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

David Gilmour pictures:

  • nopic nopic
    no more pics available

David Gilmour (1978)

David Gilmour
1. Mihalis
2. There's No Way Out Of Here
3. Cry From The Street
4. So Far Away
5. Short And Sweet
6. Raise My Rent
7. No Way
8. It's Deafinitely
9. I Can't Breathe Anymore

About Face (1984)

About Face
1. Until We Sleep
2. Murder
3. Love On The Air
4. Blue Light
5. Out Of The Blue
6. All Lovers Are Deranged
7. You Know I'm Right
8. Cruise
9. Let's Get Metaphysical
10. Near The End

On An Island (2006)

On An Island
1. Castellorizon
2. On An Island
3. The Blue
4. Take A Breath
5. Red Sky At Night
6. This Heaven
7. Then I Close My Eyes
8. Smile
9. A Pocketful Of Stones
10. Where We Start
David Gilmour discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of David Gilmour albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist