100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Death Cab For Cutie

Death Cab For Cutie bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Death Cab For Cutie

Death Cab For Cutie photo 2011

Death Cab For Cutie Biography

Led by singer + guitarist Ben Gibbard, who started performing as a one-man band in 1997, the Alternative-Rock act Death Cab For Cutie originally formed in the college town of Bellingham, Washington USA; Gibbard eventually recruited guitarist + organist Christopher Walla, bassist Nick Harmer and drummer Nathan Good, fulfilling the line-up as a four-piece.

Their debut album, a co-release from Barsuk and Elsinor Records, called "Something About Airplanes", appeared in August of 1998; shortly thereafter, the band moved south to Seattle.

In early 2000 Good left the group and new drummer Michael Schorr stepped in during the sessions for the band's second album, "We Have The Facts And We're Voting Yes".
One and a half year later Death Cab For Cutie released its third full-length disc, "The Photo Album", which reached the #29 position on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart.

Released in October 2002, "You Can Play These Songs With Chords", delivered a collection of outtakes, demos and rarities, the set hit the top 30 of the U.S. Independent Albums chart setting the band up for a larger audience with its fourth album of all-new-material, "Transatlanticism", which was issued in October of 2003 and took the band into the top 100 of The Billboard 200 Albums Sales chart; in the meantime frontman Ben Gibbard teamed-up with Jimmy Tamborello for the Indie Electro-Rock project The Postal Service and drummer Jason McGerr joined Death Cab For Cutie replacing Schorr.

In August 2005 the sensitive Rock quartet issued their next CD, the platinum selling album "Plans", on Atlantic Records. The band's major-label debut peaked at #4 on The Billboard 200 spawning two Hot Modern Rock top 10 smash singles in "Soul Meets Body" and "Crooked Teeth" and a minor alt-Rock radio hit with "I Will Follow You Into The Dark".

Death Cab For Cutie returned in May 2008 with its sixth studio record; the 11-song set crested at #1 on both The Billboard 200 and the Top Canadian Albums charts. The lead-off single "I Will Possess Your Heart", an eight minute jam, peaked at #6 on The Hot Modern Rock Tracks; it was followed by two more Modern Rock top 10 hits: "Cath..." and "Meet Me On The Equinox" while "Grapevine Fires" faltered just outside the top 20 of the same chart.

In May 2011 the Washington alt-Rock band released "Codes And Keys", the album's first single, "You Are A Tourist", rose to #1 on The Alternative Songs chart while the album itself hit #3 on The Billboard 200. The second single off the record, "Stay Young, Go Dancing", was just one spot below The Hot Modern Rock top 30 where it sat at #31 in mid-October.


Death Cab For Cutie biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Death Cab For Cutie pictures:

  • Death Cab For Cutie band lineup 2000 Death Cab For Cutie band lineup 2000
    The band line-up 2000
  • Death Cab For Cutie 2005 Death Cab For Cutie 2005
    Death Cab For Cutie 2005