100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Default bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Default band

Default band photo 2005

Default Biography

This Alternative-Rock band started life in Vancouver, British Columbia CANADA, in 1999 as The Fallout when guitarist Jeremy Hora and drummer Danny Craig decided to play music full time; the two enlisted the help of long-time friend and vocalist Dallas Smith; that fall the band went in the studio with Nickelback's Chad Kroeger at the helm, to cut a demo-disc and began playing gigs around their hometown.
During 2000 the group change their name to Default, signed a deal with TVT Records and hired Dave Benedict as their permanent bass player.

The quartet released their official debut album, "The Fallout", in autumn 2001; the record soared to #1 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart and cracked The Billboard Top 200 coming in at #51. The band's intensive touring schedule, 400 gigs plus, helped propel the album to platinum status in both Canada and the United States, with total international sales in the 1,2 million range; the first single, "Wasting My Time", was a huge success, it rocketed to #2 on the Billboard's Mainstream Rock Tracks, peaked at #3 on The Modern Rock chart and also crashed into The Billboard Hot 100 reaching the #13 spot; the follow-up single, "Deny", hit #7 on Active Rock chart and reached #14 on The Modern Rock Tracks; the final single, "Live A Lie", received significant airplay on album-Rock radio stations.

The Canadian quartet's second effort, "Elocation", was released in November 2003 but missed the top 100 of The Billboard 200 chart and failed to match its predecessor's sales; it included three Adult Top 40 or Active Rock top 40 hits: "Taking My Life Away", "Throw It All Away" and "All She Wrote".

Two years later, in October 2005 Default returned with its third release, "One Thing Remains", which reached the #90 position on The Billboard Top 200 chart; the album's main single, "Count On Me", debuted at #22 on The Mainstream Rock chart.

Danny Craig posted a message to the band's fans on their Myspace blog in June 2008, apologizing for not updating them on the status of their as-yet-unreleased fourth album. Blaming their former record label, the now-defunct TVT, for nearly “ultimately destroying our career, not to mention the careers of every other artist on their roster”.
Well over a year later, in September 2009, "Comes And Goes" was released on EMI Music Canada and Default scored two Canadian Rock radio hits with "All Over Me" and "Little Too Late".


Default biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Default pictures:

  • Default band 2003 Default band 2003
    Group shot 2003

The Fallout (2001)

The Fallout
1. Sick And Tired
2. Deny
3. Wasting My Time
4. Slow Me Down
5. One Late Night
6. Seize The Day
7. Somewhere
8. Live A Lie
9. By Your Side
10. Faded
11. Let You Down

Elocation (2003)

1. Who Followed Who?
2. Taking My Life Away
3. Movin' On
4. Throw It All Away
5. Cruel
6. Made To Lie
7. Crossing The Line
8. Without You
9. Break Down Doors
10. Enough
11. All She Wrote
12. Alone

One Thing Remains (2005)

One Thing Remains
1. All Is Forgiven
2. I Can't Win
3. It Only Hurts
4. The Way We Were
5. Count On Me
6. Hiding From The Sun
7. Beautiful Flower
8. One Thing Remains
9. The Memory Will Never Die
10. Get Out Of This Alive
11. Found My Way Out

Comes And Goes (2009)

Comes And Goes
1. Turn It On
2. All Over Me
3. Little Too Late
4. Goodbye
5. Show Me
6. Hold On To You
7. Comes And Goes
8. Suppose To Be
9. Caught In The Moment
10. Fascination
11. Yesterday's Song
Default discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Default albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist