100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Dissociatives

The Dissociatives bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Dissociatives

The Dissociatives band photo 2004

The Dissociatives Biography

This Australian Alternative-Rock act was conceived by singer+guitarist Daniel Johns and keyboardist+synth programmer Paul Mac.

The pair first met when Mac remixed "Freak" by Johns' multi-platinum band, Silverchair, in 1997. Over the years that followed, Mac contributed keyboards and other noises to Silverchair's "Neon Ballroom"and "Diorama" albums; he also guested onstage with the band a couple of times.
Through these creative experiences the guys became friends, this led them to create an experimental EP called "I Can't Believe It's Not Rock" in 2000.
In mid-2003 the two got together to write and record "The Dissociatives"; they elected to produce the disc themselves; all the music was written jointly with Johns subsequently penning the words and melodies. They recorded the basic tracks in London then a few months later they regrouped in Sydney and Newcastle to finish it off; the duo's self-titled debut album was fianally released in April of 2004, it included two singles, "Somewhere Down The Barrel" and "Young Man, Old Man (You Ain't Better Than The Rest)".


The Dissociatives biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Dissociatives pictures:

  • The Dissociatives' Paul Mac and Daniel Johns The Dissociatives' Paul Mac and Daniel Johns
    Paul Mac and Daniel Johns

The Dissociatives (2004)

The Dissociatives self-titled album
1. We're Much Preferred Customer
2. Somewhere Down The Barrel
3. Horror With Eyeballs
4. Lifting The Veil From The Braille
5. Forever And A Day
6. Thinking In Reverse
7. Paris Circa 2007/8
8. Young Man, Old Man (You Ain't Better Than The Rest)
9. Aaängry Megaphone Man
10. Sleep Well Tonight
The Dissociatives discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Dissociatives albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist