100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Dope bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Dope band 2005

Dope band photo 2005

Dope Biography

The Industrial Alternative-Metal outfit Dope formed in New York City, New York USA, in 1997 around the core duo of vocalist + rhythm guitarist Edsel Dope and keyboards player Simon Dope; when the two brothers teamed with lead guitarist Tripp Eisen, bassist Acey Slade and drummer Preston Nash the band was ready to hit the NuMetal scene.

After only a handful of shows, Dope secured a major label deal with Epic/Flip Records and September 1999 saw the release of their debut album, "Felons And Revolutionaries"; six months later, the crew scored the first Mainstream Rock top 40 hit with the infectious cover of Dead Or Alive's "You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)", taken from the soundtrack to the film "American Psycho"; non-stop touring opening for such artists as Slipknot, Fear Factory, Kid Rock and impressive live performances helped their debut release sell a quarter million copies.

In October 2000 the group recruited a second guitarist, Virus; Eisen then left to join Static-X, Nash also departed and before Dope went into the studio to cut the sophomore album, Sloane 'Mosey' Jentry, who had already played with the band during their first few club shows, rejoined to play bass, Acey Slade moved over to guitar and Racci 'Sketchy' Shay was asked to replace original drummer; "Life" was issued in November 2001, the record peaked at #6 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers list and scraped the lower regions of The Billboard 200 Albums chart spawning two Mainstream Rock top 30 hit singles, "Now Or Never" and "Slipping Away".

The following year both Acey Slade and Simon Dope left the line-up; Dope continued as a four-piece unit and in October 2003 released their third album, "Group Therapy", through the indie label Recon; the disc reached the #17 position on the Billboard's Top Independent Albums chart.
Mosey officially retired from the music business and left Dope in early January of 2004; the remaining members enlisted Powerman 5000's Adrian Ost who served as drummer during the spring tour with Mushroomhead and Soil. Later in the year, Brian 'Brix' Milner, former guitarist for Skrape, was hired to replace Mosey.

Dope completed its fourth album "American Apathy" in 2005 and inked a new deal with Artemis Records who released it that summer; the set's lead radio single, "Always", quickly broke into Mainstream Rock top 40 while the full-length CD hit #14 on the Independent Albums chart and #128 on The Billboard 200.

The group long-awaited fifth album, "No Regrets", was released in March 2009 via Koch Records. Edsel Dope, alongside Virus, revitalized Dope's line-up on the new record; joining them on bass and backing vocals was Tripp Tribbet, the younger brother of Mudvayne and HELLYEAH guitarist Greg Tribbet; on drums, the band recruited Angel Bartolotta. Zakk Wylde from Black Label Society lent his signature guitar squeals to Dope on the Hot Mainstream Rock top 40 hit single "Addiction". "No Regrets" became their best performing album on The Billboard Top 200 chart peaking at #88.


Dope biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Dope pictures:

  • Dope band lineup 2001 Dope band lineup 2001
    "Life" era band line-up