100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


doubleDrive bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


doubleDrive photo 2002
LtoR> Josh Sattler, Troy McLawhorn, Donny Hamby and Mike Froedge

doubleDrive Biography

This Alternative-Rock quartet formed in Atlanta, Georgia USA, in 1996 with Donnie Hamby on vocals, Troy McLawhorn on guitar, Josh Sattler on bass and Mike Froedge on drums.

The band's debut album, "1000 Yard Stare", was released in 1999 on MCA Records, it included the single "Tattooed Bruise" which received airplay on several Active Rock radio stations across the United States, at the same time they toured with Stereomud and Sevendust.

Unhappy with its former record label doubleDrive, hit the studio in 2001 to cut tracks for their next release, piquing the interest of Roadrunner Records in the process; soon after, a contract was signed and the group returned to the studio in mid-2002 for a blitzkrieg 10-day session. "Blue In The Face" was finally released in April 2003, this album reached the #43 position on Billboard's Heatseekers list and the single "Imprint" peaked at #22 on The Mainstream Rock chart.

Sometime in 2004 the group disbanded. There isn't much information on it and none of the members have come forth to speak about it. McLawhorn has moved on to a new group, Dark New Day, that released their first album in mid-2005.


doubleDrive biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

doubleDrive pictures:

  • doubleDrive band 2000 doubleDrive band 2000
    Group shot 2000

1000 Yard Stare (1999)

1000 Yard Stare
1. Belief System
2. Dressed In Light
3. 1000 Yard Stare
4. Hell
5. Smaller
6. Vamp
7. Sacrifice
8. Gone
9. Tattooed Bruise
10. Reason
11. Stand By
12. Mexican Radio

Blue In The Face (2003)

Blue In The Face
1. 11:59
2. Imprint
3. Hollowbody
4. Million People
5. I Don't Care
6. Freightrain
7. Track, No. 7
8. Evenout
9. Inside Out
10. The Hand
11. Big Shove
doubleDrive discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of doubleDrive albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist