100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Doves bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Doves band 2009

Doves band photo 2009

Doves Biography

Formed in Manchester, ENGLAND, during the early '90s by bassist + vocalist Jimi Goodwin, guitarist Jez Williams and twin Andy Williams on drums the band was originally called Sub Sub. In 1993 the guys scored a big hit in their homeland with the House-oriented song "Ain't No Love (Ain't No Use)", they subsequently collaborated with Bernard Sumner from New Order. The trio came back together in 1998 and renamed themselves Doves, releasing a 3-track EP titled "Cedar".

After two more Alternative-Rock EPs, in October 2000 Doves released its debut full-length disc, "Lost Souls", which climbed into the U.K. top 20 and spawned the top 40 hit single "Catch The Sun".

The group returned in the spring of 2002 with their second LP, "The Last Broadcast", it peaked at #1 on the Official U.K. Albums chart and also reached the #83 position in U.S. on The Billboard 200. The disc produced three British top 30 singles including the top 3 hit "There Goes The Fear", "Pounding" and "Caught By The River".

2005 saw the band release, "Some Cities", which included U.K. top 10 hit "Black And White Town". The album itself shot to #1 in Great Britain and cracked the American Billboard Top 200 list.

After four years, in April 2009, Doves put out its fourth studio album, "Kingdom Of Rust". The disc, which was premiered by the free digital track and album's opener "Jetstream", peaked at #2 on the British Official Albums chart while in U.S. it reached #89 on The Billboard 200.



Doves biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Doves pictures:

  • Doves band 2002 Doves band 2002
    Group shot 2002

Lost Souls (2000)

Lost Souls
1. Firesuite
2. Here It Comes
3. Break Me Gently
4. Sea Song
5. Rise
6. Lost Souls
7. Melody Calls
8. Catch The Sun
9. The Man Who Told Everything
10. The Cedar Room
11. Reprise
12. A House

The Last Broadcast (2002)

The Last Broadcast
1. intro
2. Words
3. There Goes The Fear
4. M62 Song
5. Where We're Calling From
6. N.Y.
7. Satellites
8. Friday's Dust
9. Pounding
10. Last Broadcast
11. The Sulphur Man
12. Caught By The River

Some Cities (2005)

Some Cities
1. Some Cities
2. Black and White Town
3. Almost Forgot Myself
4. Snowden
5. Storm
6. Walk in Fire
7. One of These Days
8. Someday Soon
9. Shadows of Salford
10. Sky Starts Falling
11. Ambition

Kingdom Of Rust (2009)

Kingdom Of Rust
1. Jetstream
2. Kingdom Of Rust
3. The Outsiders
4. Winter Hill
5. 10:03
6. The Greatest Denier
7. Birds Flew Backwards
8. Spellbound
9. Compulsion
10. House Of Mirrors
11. Lifelines
Doves discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Doves albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist