100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Egypt Central

Egypt Central bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Egypt Central

Egypt Central photo 2010

Egypt Central Biography

Taking their name from one the toughest roads that runs through their hometown of Memphis, Tennessee USA, Egypt Central was formed in 2001 by lead singer John T. Falls, guitarist Heath Hindman, bassist Joey 'Chicago' Walser and drummer Blake Allison.
For the next few months, the group rehearsed, started writing original music, while sweating it out playing clubs in the Memphis area. The band enlisted guitarist Jeff James to complete their line-up.

Egypt Central was signed to Lava Records by music industry vet Jason Flom and instantly the band went into the studio to record their first self-titled disc in 2006. What came out of that 3-month process was an insanely catchy, hard-driven album that has turned Rock fans' expectations upside down. Their sound encompasses edgy-Rock, thunderous Metal and tumbles into the realm of Funk and arena-Rock.
As the wind of change took place in the music industry, corporate downsizing took hold and Flom had left the company as well as many of the bands that he had signed; Egypt Central had found themselves without a label.
However, the band eventually gained slots on the Ozzfest and Family Values Tour. As momentum continued to build, so did record company interest and in the summer of 2007 Egypt Central signed a new record deal with Fat Lady Music/ILG.

Retooled with the help of mixer Paul David Hagar and mastered by George Marino, the band's debut CD was re-mixed, re-mastered, re-sequenced and finally released in January 2008; the disc reached the #37 position on the Top Independent Albums chart and spun off two Hot Mainstream Rock top 40 hits: "You Make Me Sick" and "Taking You Down".

Following the departure of former guitarist Heath Hindman, in October 2010 Egypt Central returned to the studio to cut their second album. "White Rabbit" was released in May 2011 and peaked at #78 on The Billboard 200 Sales list highlighted by two Active Rock top 20 hits: the title-track and "Kick Ass".

After a decade together, Egypt Central decided to call it quits in fall 2012. Joey Chicago and Blake Allison continued playing together in their new band Devour The Day.


Egypt Central biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Egypt Central pictures:

  • Egypt Central band lineup 2005 Egypt Central band lineup 2005
    The band line-up 2005
  • Egypt Central band 2007 Egypt Central band 2007
    Egypt Central 2007

Egypt Central (2008)

Egypt Central self-titled album
1. Different
2. You Make Me Sick
3. Over And Under
4. Taking You Down
5. Leap Of Faith
6. The Way
7. Push Away
8. Walls Of Innocence
9. Locked And Caged
10. Just Another Lie
11. Home

White Rabbit (2011)

White Rabbit
1. Ghost Town
2. White Rabbit
3. Goodnight
4. Kick Ass
5. Change
6. The Drug, Part One
7. Down In Flames
8. Enemy Inside, Part Two
9. Blame
10. Dying To Leave
11. Surrender
12. Backfire
Egypt Central discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Egypt Central albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist