100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Everclear bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Everclear band 2006

Everclear photo 2006

Everclear Biography

The Alternative-Rock outfit Everclear was formed by singer + guitarist Art Alexakis, in 1992, when he moved from San Francisco to Portland, Oregon USA; there he placed an ad in the paper looking for a bassist and drummer, that is when he met bassist Craig Montoya and drummer Scott Cuthbert.

They soon recorded an indie-EP and in 1993 the three-man band issued "World Of Noise" on the local Tim/Kerr label. The following year Cuthbert was replaced by new drummer Greg Eklund and they took their new sound on the road; the band's first full-length disc was eventually re-released by Capitol Records and the single "Fire Maple Song" received some airplay on radio stations with an alternative slant.

Everclear's second album, "Sparkle And Fade", which arrived in May of 1995, shot to #1 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers chart and reached the #25 position on The Billboard 200 Albums Sales list while three singles stormed the U.S. Rock airplay charts: "Santa Monica" climbed into the top 5 of The Modern Rock chart and peaked at #1 on The Mainstream Rock Tracks; "Heroin Girl" hit the top 40 of The Modern Rock Tracks and the final single, "Heartspark Dollarsign", reached the #13 spot on the same chart also becoming their first Billboard Hot 100 entry at #80.

A bit over two years later, the Portland rockers started recording their third album, "So Much For The Afterglow", in Los Angeles; it reached #33 on The Billboard 200 upon its October 1997 release and spun off three Modern Rock top 5 hit singles in "Father Of Mine" which peaked at #1, "I Will Buy You A New Life" and "Father Of Mine" which also reached the #70 slot on The Billboard Hot 100. The fourth single, "One Hit Wonder", peaked at #12 on The Modern Rock chart in early 1999, propelling the album to double-platinum status.
Just a few months later, their version of Thin Lizzy's "The Boys Are Back In Town", which was used on the soundtrack for the movie "Detroit Rock City", appeared on the Billboard's Mainstream Rock top 40 chart.

In July 2000 the band unleashed "Songs From An American Movie, Vol. 1: Learning How To Smile" which shot to #9 on The Billboard Top 200 chart helped on its way by their biggest hit to date: "Wonderful", this single peaked at #11 on The Billboard Hot 100 and at #3 on The Modern Rock Tracks; a second single off the CD, "AM Radio", also cracked the top 20 of The Modern Rock chart.

"Songs From An American Movie, Vol. 2: Good Time For A Bad Attitude", was released just four months after Vol. 1, in November 2000, it was much more Rock oriented than the first and its main single, "When It All Goes Wrong Again", hit the #12 and #10 spots, respectively, on The Modern and The Mainstream Rock charts; the album wasn't as successful as its predecessor reaching #66 on the U.S. Top 200 chart, though it generated one more Modern Rock top 40 hit with "Out Of My Depth".

The group's sixth effort, 2003's "Slow Motion Daydream", reached #33 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart but the lead single, "Volvo Driving Soccer Mom", was the sole single to make much of an impact, landing in the top 30 of The Modern Rock chart.

2006's "Welcome To The Drama Club", was the first Everclear's studio album to feature a completely new line-up with Alexakis, guitarist Dave French, keyboardist Josh Crawley, bassist Sam Hudson and drummer Brett Snyder. The 12-track set, which came out on Eleven Seven Music label, didn't rise higher than #169 on The Billboard 200 and both singles taken from it, "Hater" and "Glorious", failed to dent the charts.

"In A Different Light", a collection of newly interpreted recordings of some of their greatest hits, was released on 429 Records in October 2009; the album also contained two new Alexakis-penned songs, "Here Comes The Darkness" and the single "At The End Of The Day".

Everclear returned to the scene with their eight studio album and their first in six years in June 2012. Alexakis recruited two new members, The Exies former bass player Freddy Herrera and Sean Winchester on drums to cut "Invisible Stars". The disc, which included the single "Be Careful What You Ask For", fell just shy of the top 20 of the Independent Albums chart and reached #119 on The Billboard 200.


Everclear biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Everclear pictures:

  • Everclear band lineup mid 90s Everclear band lineup mid 90s
    The band line-up 1994
  • Everclear band 2003 Everclear band 2003
    Everclear 2003