100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Faint

The Faint bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Faint band 2004

The Faint band 2013
from left: Dapose, Todd Fink, Clark Baechle and Jacob Thiele

The Faint Biography

The Alternative Pop-Rock band The Faint began in Omaha, Nebraska USA, in the mid-'90s. In spite of their quintet-status of the band's most successful period in the Billboard chart, their initial years grew from a core-unit three-piece, comprising vocalist Todd Baechle, his brother and drummer Clark and Joel Petersen on bass.

When the group signed to Saddle Creek Records, frontman Todd Baechle changed his name to Todd Fink.
The group's debut album, "Media", was released in the spring of 1998.

They followed it up with 1999's "Blank-Wave Arcade", the first record to feature keyboardist Jacob Thiele and the band's third offering, "Danse Macabre", released in August 2001, introduced guitarist Dapose -- AKA Mike Dappen --.

The Faint's best charting album issued via Saddle Creek was "Wet From Birth", it reached #99 on The Billboard 200 upon its September 2004 release and climbed into the top 10 of the U.S. Independent Albums list.

August 2008 saw the Omaha-based electro-popsters release "Fasciinatiion", through their own newly-formed label Blank.Wav; the disc peaked at #46 on The Billboard 200 and hit #6 on the Top Independent Albums chart.
Petersen exited the band shortly after the disc's release.

Latest News:

The Faint will release their first album in six years, "Doom Abuse", on April 8, 2014, via SQE Music.


The Faint biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Faint pictures:

  • The Faint band 2000 The Faint band 2000
    Group shot 2000
  • The Faint band 2004 The Faint band 2004
    The Faint in 2004