100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Fear Factory

Fear Factory bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Fear Factory

Fear Factory photo 2010

Fear Factory Biography

The four-person Industrial Alternative-Metal combo from Los Angeles, California USA, named Fear Factory was formed in 1991 and comprised lead singer Burton C. Bell, guitarist Dino Cazares, bassist Andrew Shives and drummer Raymond Herrera.

After signing to Roadrunner Records, the band debuted in the summer of 1992 with the full-length album, "Soul Of A New Machine".

One year later the group released the 6-track remix EP, "Fear Is The Mind Killer", which showcased their unique musical style, a mixture of hardcore guitar riffs, dry lung vocals and techno rhythms.
During 1994 Shives was replaced by Belgian bass player Christian Olde Wolbers. The new line-up's first album, "Demanufacture", which was issued in mid-1995, peaked at #26 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers list.

Two years later Fear Factory released another remix-collection entitled "Remanufacture", the set became the band's first Billboard Top 200 Sales chart entry at #158.

Their third full-length album of new material, "Obsolete", came out in July 1998, peaking at #77 on The Billboard 200, it contained the Mainstream Rock top 40 single "Descent" and their biggest radio hit, "Shock", which debuted at #38 on The Modern Rock Tracks and at #16 on The Mainstream Rock chart.

Over the course of 1999, Fear Factory, released the cover version of Gary Numan's "Cars"; this single rocketed into the top 20 of The Mainstream Rock chart. That same year, after bringing on board keyboard player John Bechdel, they participated in the Ozzfest Tour, along with Static-X, Slipknot and subsequently toured all over Canada, the United States and even Europe.

The band, resurfaced in the spring of 2001 with "Digimortal", an album that cracked the top 20 of the Canadian Albums chart and became a top 40 hit Stateside, spawning the Active Rock top 40 single, "Linchpin".
In spring 2002, when frontman Burton C. Bell abruptly announced his departure from the group, Roadrunner dropped the band and released "Concrete", this album was originally recorded in 1991 and comprised of 16 tracks, many of which were later reworked.

Again with Bell on vocals but without Cazares, Fear Factory returned to the spotlight in the spring of 2004 with its fifth album of all-new-material, "Archetype"; bassist Christian Olde Wolbers switched over to the lead guitar spot and Byron Stroud joined as the new bass player. Led by the title-track, the full-length disc, issued on Liquid 8 label, crashed into the top 30 of The Billboard 200 Albums chart.

In August 2005, the quartet released "Transgression", on Calvin Records, an imprint of Liquid 8. The 11-song set, which included the Metal radio single "Supernova", reached the #45 position on The Billboard 200 chart.

In 2009, guitarist Dino Cazares surprised the Metal world by reuniting with vocalist Burton C. Bell in a new Fear Factory line-up that also included Stroud and new drummer Gene Hoglan. Released in February 2010, "Mechanize", was the first new album in five years and the band's first offering since Cazares' return; prefaced by the brutal single "Powershifter", the album became a modest chart success reaching #72 on The Billboard 200.

With just two original members left in the band, Cazares and Burton C. Bell, for the next offering, "The Industrialist", the pair collaborated in the studio with Australian drummer John Sankey and eventually enlisted the help of bassist Matt DeVries. The disc debuted inside the top 40 of The Billboard 200 Albums list after its June 2012 release, prefaced by the Metal radio single "Recharger".


Fear Factory biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Fear Factory pictures:

  • Fear Factory band lineup 2004Fear Factory band lineup 2004
    The band line-up 2004