100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Fiona Apple

Fiona Apple bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Fiona Apple

Fiona Apple photo 2012

Fiona Apple Biography

Pop-Rock singer + songwriter Fiona Apple Maggart was born on September 9, 1977 in New York City, New York USA, to singer Diana McAfee and actor Brandon Maggart. Apple began playing piano when she was eight; four years later was the victim of a sexual assault. Following the separation of her parents she moved to Los Angeles where she recorded a demo tape that landed her a deal with Sony Music.

In July of 1996 she released her debut album, "Tidal", it received great reviews by critics, the first single off the CD, "Shadowboxer", was perhaps a moderate hit on The Modern Rock chart, but slowly, the album started racking up sales reaching the #15 spot on The Billboard Top 200 chart and in spring 1999 was certified triple-platinum for sales of 3 million copies; prior to this, the second single, "Criminal" shot to #4 on The Modern Rock chart and hit #21 on The Billboard Hot 100; with it Fiona Apple won a Grammy in 1998 for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance. The album also featured "Sleep To Dream", a further Modern Rock top 30 entrant.

The long-awaited sophomore release, "When The Pawn...", was finally issued in November 1999 reaching the #13 slot on The Billboard 200 list, however it failed to match the sales figures of its multi-platinum-certified predecessor and generate only one Modern Rock top 20 single with "Fast As You Can". When it was released, the work captured the world record for the longest album title of all time, in fact the full title of it runs a whopping 90 words.

After nearly three years on the shelves of Sony Records, Fiona Apple's third album, "Extraordinary Machine", was released on October 4, 2005; it quickly ascended into the top 10 of The Billboard 200 and produced a couple of minor hit singles with "O' Sailor" and "Get Him Back".

Fiona Apple's insanely anticipated follow-up to "Extraordinary Machine" arrived in June 2012 and was titled "The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than The Driver Of The Screw And Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do". The disc debuted at #3 on The Billboard 200 and reached #13 on the Top Canadian Albums charts. The first single off the CD was the magnetic "Every Single Night".


Fiona Apple biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Fiona Apple pictures:

  • Fiona Apple 2005 Fiona Apple 2005
    Fiona Apple 2005

Tidal (1996)

1. Sleep To Dream
2. Sullen Girl
3. Shadowboxer
4. Criminal
5. Slow Like Honey
6. The First Taste
7. Never Is A Promise
8. The Child Is Gone
9. Pale September
10. Carrion

When The Pawn... (1999)

When The Pawn...
1. On The Bound
2. To Your Love
3. Limp
4. Love Ridden
5. Paper Bag
6. A Mistake
7. Fast As You Can
8. The Way Things Are
9. Get Gone
10. I Know

Extraordinary Machine (2005)

Extraordinary Machine
1. Extraordinary Machine
2. Get Him Back
3. O' Sailor
4. Better Version Of Me
5. Tymps (The Sick In The Head Song)
6. Parting Gift
7. Window
8. Oh Well
9. Please Please Please
10. Red Red Red
11. Not About Love
12. Waltz (Better Than Fine)

The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than The Driver Of The Screw And Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do (2012)

The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than The Driver Of The Screw And ...
1. Every Single Night
2. Daredevil
3. Valentine
4. Jonathan
5. Left Alone
6. Werewolf
7. Periphery
8. Regret
9. Anything We Want
10. Hot Knife
Fiona Apple discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Fiona Apple albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist