100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Flobots bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Flobots photo 2009

Flobots Biography

After originally forming as a side project in 2005, in Denver, Colorado USA, Flobots brought together Emcees Jonny 5 and Brer Rabbit with violist Mackenzie Roberts, guitarist Andy Guerrero, bassist Jesse Walker, drummer Kenny Ortiz and touring trumpet player Joe Ferrone. By the end of the year, it was clear that the band's refreshingly positive message and nontraditional instrumentation gave it both a wide appeal and a marketable buzz factor. Progressive in both style and message, the band's ability to drop from symphonic Rock-infused crescendos into stripped-down string-laden breakbeats has earned Flobots a reputation for both originality and authenticity.

After selling over 3,000 copies of their first recording, "Present Platypus", released in October 2005, the group played many Colorado venues on a regular basis building a loyal fan base.

The upward trajectory continued; in October 2007 Flobots put out its first full-length disc, "Fight With Tools" and by early 2008 they signed a major record deal with Universal Republic Records. The first single, "Handlebars", became a worlwide top 40 hit and peaked at #3 on The Hot Modern Rock Tracks in the U.S. where the album rose to #15 on The Billboard 200; the second single, "Rise", reached the #33 position on the alt-Rock airplay chart.

The Alternative Rap-Rock ensemble returned in March 2010 with "Survival Story" which reached #44 on The Billboard 200 and the lead single "White Flag Warrior", a collaboration with Rise Against's lead singer, Tim McIlrath, hit #22 on The Hot Modern Rock chart.

Flobots' third album, "The Circle In The Square", followed in August 2012.


Flobots biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Flobots pictures:

  • Flobots band live lineup 2007 Flobots  band live lineup 2007
    The band live line-up (2007)

Present Platypus (2005)

Present Platypus
1. prelude
2. JetPack
3. One Love
4. Handle Bars
5. Moon
6. No W
7. Something Grown Together

Fight With Tools (2007)

Fight With Tools
1. There's A War Going On For Your Mind
2. Mayday!!!
3. Same Thing
4. Stand Up
5. Fight With Tools
6. Handlebars
7. Never Had It
8. Combat
9. The Rhythm Method (Move!)
10. Anne Braden
11. We Are Winning
12. Rise

Survival Story (2010)

Survival Story
1. Cracks In The Surface
2. The Effect
3. Defend Atlantis
4. If I
5. White Flag Warrior
6. By The Time You Get This Message...
7. Airplane Mode
8. Whip$ And Chain$
9. Good Soldier
10. Superhero
11. Infatuation
12. Panacea For The Poison

The Circle In The Square (2012)

The Circle In The Square
1. Flokovsky
2. The Circle In The Square
3. Run (Run Run Run)
4. Sides
5. On Loss And Having
6. Gonna Be Free
7. One Last Show
8. interlude
9. Wrestling Israel
10. Loneliness
11. The Rose And The Thistle
12. #OccupyEarth
13. Journey After (War Fatigues)
14. Stop The Apocalypse
15. ...
Flobots discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Flobots albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist