100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Florence + The Machine

Florence + The Machine bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Florence + The Machine

Florence + The Machine photo 2012

Florence + The Machine Biography

Indie-Rock group Florence + The Machine is the recording project of the Londoner artist Florence Welch. She grew up in Camberwell, South London ENGLAND, the oldest of three children. One of her earliest musical memories is standing on top of the trunk where her dad kept his vinyl collection, dancing with him to The Rolling Stones. She started singing pop tunes at home, expanded her vocal range with arias, then became a pre-teen skatepunk before getting lost in the Camberwell art college squat party scene.
Her 'Machine' is constantly changing, but mainly consists of long-term collaborators Robert Ackroyd on guitar, Isabella Summers, otherwise known as 'Isabella Machine', on keyboards and Tom Monger on harp.

"Lungs", the group's debut full-length disc was released through Island Records in July 2009. Florence + The Machine clocked up a British #1 album and won several major music accolades; the album eventually went on to sell over 3 million copies globally. They had previously released several popular singles including debut "Kiss With A Fist" and the worlwide hit "Dog Days Are Over", the latter of which initially peaked at #21 on The Billboard Hot 100 and later inched into The Alternative Songs list at #8. In U.S. the album spent more than two years on The Billboard 200 with a peak of #14 while the final single, "You've Got The Love", reached #34 on The Alternative Songs chart.

Florence + The Machine's sophomore record, "Ceremonials", arrived in the fall of 2011 and soon hit #1 in U.K. and Australia. The disc also peaked at #4 on the Top Canadian Albums chart and at #6 on The Billboard 200. It includes two U.K. top 40 hit singles "What The Water Gave Me" and "Shake It Out".


Florence + The Machine biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Florence + The Machine pictures:

  • Florence Welch 2009 Florence Welch 2009
    Florence Welch 2009

Lungs (2009)

1. Dog Days Are Over
2. Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)
3. I'm Not Calling You A Liar
4. Howl
5. Kiss With A Fist
6. Girl With One Eye
7. Drumming Song
8. Between Two Lungs
9. Cosmic Love
10. My Boy Builds Coffins
11. Hurricane Drunk
12. Blinding
13. You've Got The Love

Ceremonials (2011)

1. Only If For A Night
2. Shake It Out
3. What The Water Gave Me
4. Never Let Me Go
5. Breaking Down
6. Lover To Lover
7. No Light, No Light
8. Seven Devils
9. Heartlines
10. Spectrum
11. All This And Heaven Too
12. Leave My Body
Florence + The Machine discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Florence + The Machine albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist