100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Fountains Of Wayne

Fountains Of Wayne bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Fountains Of Wayne

Fountains Of Wayne photo 2007

Fountains Of Wayne Biography

This Pop-Rock band was formed in New York City, New York USA, in 1996 by two long-time friends, vocalist Chris Collingwood and bassist Adam Schlesinger; at that time the two had already released material under different names.

Fountains Of Wayne self-titled album was recorded largely as a duo, the two songwriters have enlisted guitarist Jody Porter and drummer Brian Young shortly before the disc was released, in October 1996 through Atlantic Records; the quartet then began a headlining tour across the U.S. to debut the new material to their fans and they started to climb The Modern Rock chart with the main single, "Radiation Vibe", reaching #14; the song also charted in the U.K. Top 40 and was followed by two minor hits, "Survival Car" and "Sink To The Bottom".
The band's sophomore release, 1999's "Utopia Parkway" enjoyed similar success but the first single, "Denise", barely entered the top 40 of The Modern Rock chart; the album produced one more minor hit with "Red Dragon Tattoo".
Fountains Of Wayne returned to action after four full years and in June 2003 they released "Welcome Interstate Managers", this album peaked at #1 on Billboard's Top Heatseekers list and made a mid-chart appearance on The Billboard Top 200 reaching #115 led by the single "Stacy's Mom" which peaked at #31 on The Modern Rock chart and later rose to #21 on The Billboard Hot 100; the second single cut, "Mexican Wine", failed to chart.
Two years later, Virgin Records issued "Out-Of-State Plates", a specially priced 2-CD collection of non-album tracks recorded over the span of the band's career; the set contains several previously unreleased songs, as well as two brand new ones, "The Girl I Can't Forget" plus the album's preceding single, "Maureen".

In April 2007 Fountains Of Wayne broke a nearly four-year span between studio albums with the release of the brand new 14-song set entitled "Traffic And Weather" which debuted at #97 on The Billboard 200; first single, "Someone To Love", features bassist Melissa Auf Der Maur singing backing vocals.

Another four years passed before the group released their fifth studio album, "Sky Full Of Holes", the disc achieved a career-best peak of #37 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart.


Fountains Of Wayne biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Fountains Of Wayne pictures:

  • Fountains Of Wayne band late 90s Fountains Of Wayne band late 90s
    Group shot 1999