100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Funeral For A Friend

Funeral For A Friend bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Funeral For A Friend

Funeral For A Friend photo 2010

Funeral For A Friend Biography

The Emo Alternative-Metal combo Funeral For A Friend was originally formed as January Thirst in 2001 in Bridgend, WALES, by vocalist Matthew Davies, guitarists Kris Coombs-Roberts and Darran Smith, bassist Gareth Davies and drummer Ryan Richards; the band changed their name, which was inspired by song "Funeral For A Friend" By Dream Theater, when they recorded their debut EP, in 2002.

In 2003, the group recorded their second EP, "Four Ways To Scream Your Name" and by the summer the band secured their first Kerrang! award, winning the award for Best U.K. Newcomer; this led to a recording contract with Warner Music who released their first full-length disc, "Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation", in October of the same year, it included both the British top 40 hits "She Drove Me To Daytime Television" and "Escape Artists Never Die" and eventually rocketed to #12 on the U.K. Albums chart.

The Welsh rockers' sophomore album, "Hours", arrived in June 2005 peaking again at #12 in U.K. on the back of the top 10 hit single "Streetcar"; the follow-up single "History" was another sizeable hit reaching the #19 spot. In the U.S. the band has received reams of critical praise while growing their ever-increasing fanbase via tours alongside such like-minded outfits as Linkin Park, Taking Back Sunday, Coheed And Cambria and Atreyu; "Hours" finally cracked The Billboard Top 200 chart reaching #139.

Funeral For A Friend returned in May 2007 with "Tales Don't Tell Themselves", an instant U.K. top 3 smash album which included the top 20 hit single "Into Oblivion (Reunion)".

The band's fourth album, "Memory And Humanity", the first to be issued on their own label, Join Us, arrived in October 2008. The 13-song set quickly catapulted into the top 20 in U.K. and reached the #44 position on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart. It included two singles "Waterfront Dance Club" and "Kicking And Screaming".

In March 2011 Funeral For A Friend released "Welcome Home Armageddon", the first album recorded since Darran Smith and Gareth Davies left the group. FFAF replaced them with guitarist Gavin Burrough and bass player Richard Boucher. The first single off the CD was "Front Row Seats To The End Of The World".

One year later the seminal post-Hardcore troop faced yet another member change with the resignation of longtime drummer Ryan Richards; he was replaced by Pat Lundy in time for the recording sessions for the band's sixth album, "Conduit", which arrived in early 2013 along with the promotional single "Best Friends And Hospital Beds".



Funeral For A Friend biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Funeral For A Friend pictures:

  • Funeral For A Friend band 2003 Funeral For A Friend band 2003
    FFAF 2003
  • Funeral For A Friend band lineup 2007 Funeral For A Friend band lineup 2007
    The band line-up 2007