100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Future Islands

Future Islands bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Future Islands

Future Islands band 2014

Future Islands Biography

Based out of Baltimore, Maryland USA, the Alternative Pop-Rock band Future Islands began in 2006 with lead singer Samuel T. Herring, William Cashion on bass + guitar and Gerrit Welmers on keyboards.

The guys, who first met at East Carolina University in Greenville, collaborated with various musicians and in September 2008 put out their debut album,"Wave Like Home".

Released in May 2010, "In Evening Air" marked the first full-length release from Future Islands since moving to Baltimore and also their first album as a focused three-piece.

The group's romantic synth sound scales new heights with 2011's "On The Water", it was their first album that charted on the Billboard's Top Heatseekers list.

In the spring of 2014 Future Islands released "Singles", their debut album for 4AD. Despite the kind-of-just-a-little-bit-confusing title, it is not a collection of singles but is, in fact, a completely new full-length record. It became the Baltimore trio's most commercially successful album to date peaking at #40 on The Billboard 200 and the lead single, "Seasons (Waiting On You)", eventually landed in the top 40 of The Alternative Songs chart.


Future Islands biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Future Islands pictures:

  • Future Islands band 2009 Future Islands band 2009
    Group shot 2009