100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Grizzly Bear band

Grizzly Bear band photo 2009

Grizzly Bear Biography

The modern Folk-Rock outfit Grizzly Bear first formed when singer + songwriter Ed Droste and drummer Christopher Bear met in New York City, New York USA. They found similar music interests and recruited singer + guitarist Daniel Rossen and bassist + woodwinds player Chris Taylor to join their truly experimental music project, in fact, it's a rare thing to find a band that counts the glockenspiel, autoharp, banjo and flute as key instruments, especially when it's a Rock band with just four members.

Grizzly Bear's debut album, "Horn Of Plenty", was initially released in November 2004 on Kanine Records and later re-issued as double-CD with a second bonus disc of 17 remixes.

In September 2006 the quartet returned with their second full-length disc of original material, their Warp debut "Yellow House".

After nearly three years break Grizzly Bear released a new album entitled "Veckatimest". That might seem like a long time, but given the band's hectic touring schedule, including stints with Radiohead and Feist as well as a co-headlining show with the L.A. Philharmonic. Released in May 2009, "Veckatimest", debuted at #1 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart and quickly catapulted into the top 10 of The Billboard 200 led by the hit single "Two Weeks".

In September 2012 the Brooklyn-based indie rockers released "Shields"; their fourth studio effort, prefaced by the single "Sleeping Ute", peaked at #7 on The Billboard 200 and at #16 on the Top Canadian Albums charts.


Grizzly Bear biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Grizzly Bear pictures:

  • Grizzly Bear band 2007 Grizzly Bear band 2007
    Group shot 2007

Horn Of Plenty (2004)

Horn Of Plenty
1. Deep Sea Diver
2. Don't Ask
3. Alligator
4. Campfire
5. Shift
6. Disappearing Act
7. Fix It
8. Merge
9. A Good Place
10. Showcase
11. La Duchess Anne
12. Eavesdropping
13. Service Bell
14. This Song

Yellow House (2006)

Yellow House
1. Easier
2. Lullabye
3. Knife
4. Central And Remote
5. Little Brother
6. Plans
7. Marla
8. On A Neck, On A Spit
9. Reprise
10. Colorado

Veckatimest (2009)

1. Southern Point
2. Two Weeks
3. All We Ask
4. Fine For Now
5. Cheerleader
6. Dory
7. Ready, Able
8. About Face
9. Hold Still
10. While You Wait For The Others
11. I Live With You
12. Foreground

Shields (2012)

1. Sleeping Ute
2. Speak In Rounds
3. Adelma
4. Yet Again
5. The Hunt
6. A Simple Answer
7. What's Wrong?
8. Gun-Shy
9. Half Gate
10. Sun In Your Eyes
Grizzly Bear discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Grizzly Bear albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist