100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Heaven & Hell

Heaven & Hell bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Heaven & Hell band 2009

Heaven & Hell photo 2009
LtoR: Vinny Appice, Tony Iommi, Ronnie James Dio & Geezer Butler

Heaven & Hell Biography

Heaven & Hell's journey began in 2006, when Rhino Records asked singer Ronnie James Dio, guitarist Tony Iommi, bass player Geezer Butler and drummer Vinny Appice to record a few new songs for "The Dio Years", a collection spotlighting the early '80s line-up of Black Sabbath. The impromptu get-together quickly proved the creative spark was still burning 25 years after the band's gold-certified album "Mob Rules".
The answer began to take shape in 2007, when the band launched a yearlong tour. Selling out concerts around the world, the trek included the band's triumphant return to the U.S., where they played a show in New York City at Radio City Music Hall that was immortalized on a live CD/DVD.
When the quartet finally got off the road at the end of the year, they all agreed that it would be a shame to call it a day.
The group convened in early 2008 at Iommi's home studio in Warwickshire, ENGLAND, to begin writing material for what would become the first proper Heaven & Hell studio album.

Following the initial writing session for "The Devil You Know", the band spent the summer of 2008 on the road before relocating to Dio's home studio in Los Angeles to finish writing. The first song they completed there, "Bible Black" would become the album's first single. The epic track about a book of sinister scriptures set the tone for the rest of the session.
Released in April 2009, the aforementioned debut album "The Devil You Know", quickly bulleted into the top 10 of The Billboard 200 and also charted in the top 20 in various European countries.

Sadly, Ronnie James Dio passed away on May 16, 2010, after a long bout with stomach cancer. He was 67.


Heaven & Hell biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Heaven & Hell pictures:

  • nopic nopic
    no more pics available

The Devil You Know (2009)

The Devil You Know
1. Atom And Evil
2. Fear
3. Bible Black
4. Double The Pain
5. Rock And Roll Angel
6. The Turn Of The Screw
7. Eating The Cannibals
8. Follow The Tears
9. Neverwhere
10. Breaking Into Heaven
Heaven & Hell discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Heaven & Hell albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist