100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

In Flames

In Flames bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

In Flames

In Flames photo 2011
from left: Björn Gelotte, Niclas Engelin, Anders Fridén, Peter Iwers and Daniel Svensson

In Flames Biography

Since their inception in the early '90s, In Flames have been taking cues from '80s Metal bands to make melodic, Goth-Rock with, well, dark Metal tendencies.
The project was forged by multi-instrumentalist Jesper Strömblad in Gothenburg, SWEDEN after the demise of his previous band.

Strömblad teamed-up with vocalist Mikael Stanne, guitarist Glenn Ljungström, bassist Johan Larsson to record and release 1993's "Lunar Strain".

A year later In Flames churned out a mini-album titled "Subterranean" which attracted the attention of one of Europe's leading independent Metal label, Nuclear Blast, who signed the band and issued their second full-length disc, "The Jester Race", this time with a line-up consisting of Strömblad, Ljungström, Larsson and two new additions: Anders Fridén on vocals and Björn Gelotte on drums.

After the recording of "Whoracle", in 1997, Ljungström and Larsson decided to leave the group and Niclas Engelin on guitar and Peter Iwers on bass joined; with a fresh line-up In Flames took their music on the road playing all over Europe thus expanding their audience considerably.

Once back home in Sweden, Engelin left the fold in order to focus on his new project. In Flames restructured the band completely, Björn Gelotte switched from drums to guitar and Daniel Svensson joined the band behind the drum kit; the group released "Colony" in June 1999 and they headlined in Europe, Japan and the U.S. for the first time.

The fifth LP from the seminal Swedish melodic Death-Metal band, "Clayman", which was issued in the summer of 2000, even topped its predecessor.
The first In Flames live album, "The Tokyo Showdown", was released one year later, giving a detailed insight into the band's live competence.

Modern and more mature, 2002's "Reroute To Remain" marked another milestone in their career, the sixth studio effort broke into the American Top Heatseekers chart peaking at #10 and reached the #13 position on Billboard's Independent Albums list.

April 2004 saw the release of "Soundtrack To Your Escape" which hit #2 on the Top Heatseekers Albums chart, peaked at #7 on the Top Independent list and also crossed over into The Billboard 200 Sales chart, reaching #145.

Two years later, February 2006, followed "Come Clarity"; their eighth studio record, which contained 13 song including the Metal-radio singles "Reflect The Storm" and the title-track, ascended to #1 in Sweden and also grabbed a #58 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart.

In April 2008 In Flames released "A Sense Of Purpose"; the 12-song set brought the band to previously unseen heights becoming their most successful album to date in the U.S. with a peak of #28 on The Billboard 200 and in Canada, where it leapt to #7. Highlights on "A Sense Of Purpose" included the singles "The Mirror's Truth" and "Alias" as well as 100 XR faves such as "Drenched In Fear" and "March To The Shore".

After two and a half years of solid touring including dates at Download Festival, Taste of Chaos along with Killswitch Engage and Every Time I Die, plus A Sense Of Purpose tour which the band headlined, the Swedish Metal masters once again entered their own IF Studios in Gothenburg to start the recording the new album, "Sounds Of A Playground Fading". Also around this time, Strömblad quit in order to receive treatment for his alcohol addiction, Niclas Engelin rejoined the group to replace him. Released in June 2011, the CD gained a quick success across Europe and peaked at #27 in U.S.; it includes the powerful singles "Deliver Us" and "Where The Dead Ships Dwell".


In Flames biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

In Flames pictures:

  • In Flames band lineup 2005 In Flames band lineup 2005
    The band line-up 2005
  • In Flames band 2008 In Flames band 2008
    In Flames 2008