100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Iommi bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Tony Iommi

Tony Iommi photo 2008

Iommi Biography

Anthony 'Tony' Iommi is unquestionably one of the greatest guitarist in Heavy-Metal history; born on February 19, 1948, in Birmingham, ENGLAND; he began to play the guitar as a teenager but in an industrial accident in his youth, he lost the tips of the middle and ring fingers of his right hand. His friends and his boss encouraged him to pick up the guitar again; this time, he strung his guitars with extra-light strings and soft plastic tips attached to the ends of his fingers.
Iommi's big break came when he was asked to play with Jethro Tull, but however after only one performance the guitarist was back with John 'Ozzy' Osbourne, Terence 'Geezer' Butler and drummer William 'Bill' Ward in Earth; the group later renamed themselves to Black Sabbath achieving enormous popular success all over the globe.

In 1986, Tony Iommi attempted his first solo album, "Seventh Star", but the record company forced him to release the disc under the Sabbath banner.
By 2000 it was announced that Iommi had signed to Sharon Osbourne's Divine Recordings label, who released his first proper solo album, in October that same year, the set featured several guest vocalists including Pantera's Phil Anselmo, Billy Corgan, Billy Idol and even Ozzy Osbourne, among others; Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl performed on "Goodbye Lament" which cracked the top 10 of The Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, "Iommi" hit #3 on The Billboard Top Heatseekers Albums list.
In autumn 2004 was released "The 1996 Dep Sessions", this album was originally recorded in 1996, but had not got an official release, all the tracks on it were written by Iommi and vocalist+bassist Glenn Hughes.

Iommi released his third solo album, "Fused", in July , 2005, also with Glenn Hughes on vocals, the CD included the album-Rock radio hit "Dopamine".


Iommi biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Iommi pictures:

  • Tony Iommi 2000 Tony Iommi 2000
    Tony Iommi 2000

Iommi (2000)

Iommi self-titled album
1. Laughing Man (In The Devil Mask)
2. Meat
3. Goodbye Lament
4. Time Is Mine
5. Patterns
6. Black Oblivion
7. Flame On
8. Just Say No To Love
9. Who's Fooling Who
10. Into The Night

¬ credited: Iommi with Glenn Hughes

The 1996 Dep Sessions (2004)

The 1996 Dep Sessions
1. Gone
2. From Another World
3. Don't You Tell Me
4. Don't Drag The River
5. Fine
6. Time Is The Healer
7. I'm Not The Same Man
8. It Falls Through Me

¬ credited: Tony Iommi / Glenn Hughes

Fused (2005)

1. Dopamine
2. Wasted Again
3. Saviour Of The Real
4. Resolution Song
5. Grace
6. Deep Inside A Shell
7. What You're Living For
8. Face Your Fear
9. The Spell
10. I Go Insane
Iommi discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Iommi albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist