100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Jane's Addiction

Jane's Addiction bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Jane's Addiction photo 2011
Live @ Terminal 5 in NYC
L>R: Dave Navarro, Perry Farrell, Stephen Perkins and Chris Chaney

Jane's Addiction Biography

Jane's Addiction was formed in Los Angels, California USA, in the mid-'80s, by vocalist Perry Farrell, guitarist Dave Navarro, bass player Eric Avery and drummer Stephen Perkins. When the quartet came along, they merged Alternative and Rock like no one before, becoming the first Alternative-Rock band, creating a new sound and attitude and inspiring an entire generation of bands.

The foursome made their debut in 1987 with the self-titled independent album recorded during a live performance at Roxy, in Hollywood.

The following year, Jane's Addiction, was signed to the Warner Brothers label who issued their debut studio-album; backed by the single "Jane Says", which hit #6 on The Modern Rock chart, "Nothing's Shocking" broke into The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart reaching the #103 position. It was certified platinum, also grabbing a Grammy nod in 1989 for Best Hard Rock Performance.

August 1990 saw the release of the group's second studio-set, "Ritual De Lo Habitual". The CD featured two #1 Modern Rock hits, "Been Caught Stealing" and "Stop" as well as the top 20 hit "Classic Girl" which propelled the album into the top 20 of The Billboard 200 selling over 3 million copies during its sixty-week chart run.

A year later the band contributed the song "Ripple" to The Grateful Dead tribute album "Deadicated", released as a single the track crested at #13 on The Modern Rock chart.

At the end of the summer of 1991, after a world tour and Farrell's creation of Lollapalooza touring festival, Jane's Addiction broke up.
Perry Farrell also assembled a new band, Porno For Pyros with Stephen Perkins, the group released their eponymous debut album in spring 1993. By the end of that year Dave Navarro joined The Red Hot Chili Peppers replacing John Frusciante.

After six years, Jane's Addiction reunited for a brief spell; the original line-up minus Avery, who was replaced by Flea, recorded a handful of new songs and released "Kettle Whistle", a compilation of live tracks, demos and out-takes as well as four previously unreleased tracks including the Modern Rock top 30 hit, "So What!". The set rose to #21 on The Billboard 200 Albums chart upon its November 1997 release.

In June 2001 Dave Navarro released his debut solo CD, "Trust No One" and one month later Perry Farrell delivered his first solo outing, "Song Yet To Be Sung".

The next year Farrell, Navarro and Perkins with new bassist Chris Chaney reformed Jane's Addiction; in July 2003 "Strays" was released and the first sinlge, "Just Because", took the band back to the top of The Modern Rock chart; the follow-up single, "True Nature", entered the top 30 on the same chart and their third album of all-new-material climbed to #4 on both U.S. and Canadian official charts.

Jane's Addiction began working on what would become "The Great Escape Artist" in 2010. After a highly successful summer tour with Nine Inch Nails, the group had tapped into a majestic chemistry and they wanted to harness it on their first collection of studio material since 2003's "Strays". The group opened up the gateway to their fourth studio-album in a unique fashion on the first single, "End To The Lies", but the song inexplicably failed to chart. Released in October 2011, "The Great Escape Artist", hit #12 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart while the second single, "Irresistible Force", ascended into the top 10 of The Alternative Songs chart and stopped just short of the Active Rock top 20. It was followed by "Underground" which reached the #23 position on The Alternative Songs list.


Jane's Addiction biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Jane's Addiction pictures:

  • Jane's Addiction band lineup 1988 Jane's Addiction band lineup 1988
    The band line-up 1988
  • Jane's Addiction 2003 Jane's Addiction 2003
    Jane's Addiction 2003