100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix photo 1967

Jimi Hendrix Biography

James Marshall Hendrix was born on November 27, 1942 in Seattle, Washington USA. Widely acknowledged as the finest Rock guitarist of all time, he sensationally performed playing right-handed with Fender Strat, or left-handed or, like an hurricane, behind his back, upside-down and with teeth; often with innovative electronic experiments like feedback, distortion and other effects.

Hendrix's story began in the early '60s, when he played as sideman for many groundbreaking R&B artists, he moved to New York in the mid-'60s playing in Greenwich Village clubs, Animals bassist Chas Chandler saw Hendrix perform at a club there and invited him to London.
With Chandler acting as his manager, in fall of 1966, the guitarist with bassist Noel Redding and drummer Mitch Mitchell formed The Jimi Hendrix Experience.
The London music scene in 1967 was exploding, "Are You Experienced?", the debut album spawned memorable tracks like "Hey Joe", "Purple Haze" and "The Wind Cries Mary", which all entered the U.K. Top 10. In the States Hendrix's popularity was a bit slower, but when he returned to America, in June 1967, made an appearance at the Monterey Pop Festival, his performance was a musical and visual feast, culminating in a sequence that saw him playing the guitar behind his back, over his head, with teeth and then set the instrument on fire, praying to the guitar gods who blessed him.
Experience's second effort, "Axis: Bold As Love", was released that same year, followed by 1968's double-set "Electric Ladyland" which spawned two U.K. hits, "Burning Of The Midnight Lamp" and "All Along The Watchtower" plus the masterpieces "Gypsy Eyes", "Crosstown Traffic", "Voodoo Chile".
In October 1968, all three albums of the trio were in the U.S. Pop charts at once: "Are You Experienced?", had peaked at #5, "Axis: Bold As Love" reached the #3 spot and "Electric Ladyland" hit #1.
The Experience had broken-up in June of 1969 after a show in Denver when Hendrix was fighting with the band members.

In early 1970, Hendrix with his longtime friends Billy Cox on bass and Buddy Miles on drums, recorded and released the live album "Band Of Gypsys" but the trio broke up after three concerts.
The legendary guitarist performed at the Isle Of Wight festival and returned to London following a short European tour.
At the age of 27, on 18 September 1970, he died of a drug overdose.
Jimi Hendrix is buried in Greenwood Memorial Cemetery in Renton a suburb of Seattle.


Jimi Hendrix biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Jimi Hendrix pictures:

  • The Jimi Hendrix Experience band 1967 The Jimi Hendrix Experience band 1967
    The Jimi Hendrix Experience (1967)

Are You Experienced (1967)

Are You Experienced
1. Purple Haze
2. Manic Depression
3. Hey Joe
4. Love Or Confusion
5. May This Be Love
6. I Don't Live Today
7. The Wind Cries Mary
8. Fire
9. Third Stone From The Sun
10. Foxey Lady
11. Are You Experienced?
12. Stone Free
13. 51st Anniversary
14. Highway Chile
15. Can You See Me
16. Remember
17. Red House

Axis: Bold As Love (1967)

Axis: Bold As Love
1. EXP
2. Up From The Skies
3. Spanish Castle Magic
4. Wait Until Tomorrow
5. Ain't No Telling
6. Little Wing
7. If 6 Was 9
8. You Got Me Floatin'
9. Castles Made Of Sand
10. She's So Fine
11. One Rainy Wish
12. Little Miss Lover
13. Bold As Love

Electric Ladyland (1968)

Electric Ladyland
1. ...And The Gods Made Love
2. Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)
3. Crosstown Traffic
4. Voodoo Chile
5. Little Miss Strange
6. Long Hot Summer Night
7. Come On (Part One)
8. Gypsy Eyes
9. Burning Of The Midnight Lamp
10. Rainy Day, Dream Away
11. 1983... (A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
12. Moon, Turn The Tides ... Gently, Gently Away
13. Still Raining, Still Dreaming
14. House Burning Down
15. All Along The Watchtower
16. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

Band Of Gypsys [live] (1970)

Band Of Gypsys - live
1. Who Knows
2. Machine Gun
3. Changes
4. Power To Love
5. Message To Love
6. We Gotta Live Together
Jimi Hendrix discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Jimi Hendrix albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist