100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Joy Formidable

The Joy Formidable bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Joy Formidable

The Joy Formidable photo 2011

The Joy Formidable Biography

The beginnings of this shoegaze-influenced Alternative-Rock band began in 2006, when school friends, vocalist + guitarist Ritzy Bryan and bass player Rhydian Dafydd, chatted on a night out in their hometown of Mold, WALES. The two put out a few singles under the banner of Sidecar Kisses but in 2007 they were joined by drummer Justin Stahley and launched The Joy Formidable.

The first band signed to Black Bell Records, the label founded by Passion Pit's Ayad Al Adhamy, The Joy Formidable released the 8-track EP "A Balloon Called Moaning", in early 2009 and spent the rest of the year touring Europe and Australia with bands including Editors, The Temper Trap and Passion Pit.
That same year Stahley was replaced by new drummer Matthew Thomas.

The Welsh trio produced its first full-length disc, "The Big Roar", themselves. It was released in early 2011 via Canvasback Music/Atlantic Records; the lead-off single, "Whirring", became a big smash on the U.S. Alternative Songs chart where it leapt to #7 and was followed by another alt-Rock radio top 30 hit, "A Heavy Abacus". "The Big Roar" spent 22 weeks on the Billboard's Heatseekers Albums chart with a peak of #8.

The Joy Formidable issued "Wolf's Law" in January 2013; the album contained the single "This Ladder Is Ours" which peaked at #23 on the American Alternative Songs chart. "Wolf's Law" failed to break the top 40 in U.K. and reached the #51 position on The Billboard 200.


The Joy Formidable biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Joy Formidable pictures:

  • The Joy Formidable band 2008 The Joy Formidable band 2008
    Group shot 2008

A Balloon Called Moaning [EP] (2009)

A Balloon Called Moaning - EP
1. The Greatest Light Is The Greatest Shade
2. Cradle
3. Austere
4. While The Flies
5. Whirring
6. 9669
7. The Last Drop
8. Ostrich

The Big Roar (2011)

The Big Roar
1. The Everchanging Spectrum Of A Lie
2. The Magnifying Glass
3. I Don't Want To See You Like This
4. Austere
5. A Heavy Abacus
6. Whirring
7. Buoy
8. Maruyama
9. Cradle
10. Llaw = Wall
11. Chapter 2
12. The Greatest Light Is The Greatest Shade

Wolf's Law (2013)

Wolf's Law
1. This Ladder Is Ours
2. Cholla
3. Tendons
4. Little Blimp
5. Bats
6. Silent Treatment
7. Maw Maw Song
8. Forest Serenade
9. The Leopard And The Lung
10. The Hurdle
11. The Turnaround
The Joy Formidable discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Joy Formidable albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist